PDA

View Full Version : Need some support tips/help with my 5.25" Tandon

cruising
July 10th, 2014, 06:32 AM
Hello!

I got my new fresh non "new old stock" floppys today. I cleaned the drive with a cleaning disk before inserting any floppy, formated the disk and after that i copied files from my 1.44 ext drive. Got no reading errors, only that the floppy was filled up and some files didnt get copied. So i thought the floppy was OK, but it wasnt.. it could then not read the floppy after i had copied all files to it, formated it again and copied over DOS 3.3, and then it started to give me errors "Sector not found error writing A" while copying files.

Tried to format 8 sectors per track command and copied files again, same error again. As you might understand, the formating works good and do not make any strange sounds while formating, its pretty quiet with these new floppys.

Since i have no knowledge or experience of repairing floppy drives, i asking here for help. Maybe someone that knows what hes doing maybe could fix mine or just trade for a working one? ofc i also pay a amount of money since a working one is worth more. Thats just a thought i got.

Just so you know, i have also used cleaning solution (CS-85) with a cotton top/tip on the reading heads, could not see any dirt at all on the cotton.

I hope someone has a good solution for this.

Thanks for reading :)

ldkraemer
July 10th, 2014, 07:21 AM
cruising,
You didn't specify what OS you are trying to format with. I've always had the best luck with some format software by New-Ware
named FormatMaster Version 2.19. There are newer versions, but I know that Ver 2.19 does a good job on Floppy's, and
if FormatMaster doesn't format it, I toss 'em.

One URL google found with FM219.ZIP is: http://sdorm.org/files/index_f.html

Larry

cruising
July 10th, 2014, 07:24 AM
cruising,
You didn't specify what OS you are trying to format with. I've always had the best luck with some format software by New-Ware