PDA

View Full Version : Texas Instruments PHA4100 monitor for $5 (compatability??)



NathanAllan
September 16th, 2006, 04:44 PM
Found a really neat old TI monitor at a new thrift shop for $5! It has a video input that uses an RCA-style plug and an audio input that looks like a headphone jack. I haven't even turned it on yet. I will tomorrow when I have a moment. But anyway, my question about this is will it take the RF signal from my Atari ST?? Has anyone ever used them together? It'd be great if I could run both the ST's in color mode and null them together and play some kind of game against the stepson. Pics soon (neat brown/silver design).

Nathan

NathanAllan
September 16th, 2006, 04:48 PM
looks just like this one:

http://cgi.ebay.com/TEXAS-INSTRUMENTS-Color-Monitor-Mdl-PHA-4100A-PHA4100A_W0QQitemZ220028042612QQihZ012QQcategoryZ1 247QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

but with no "A" in the model.

carlsson
September 16th, 2006, 06:01 PM
The connector looks like it takes composite video. Perhaps your RF modulator on the Atari outputs composite video as well as an antenna signal (the A520 on the Amiga does). One bidder in the auction asked if the original TI video cable was included. I'm not familiar with what it would entitle; probably a separate RF modulator that outputs a signal that goes to your antenna input.

Terry Yager
September 16th, 2006, 07:00 PM
The video output jack on TI-99 uses a 5-pin DIN connector, hence the need for a 'special' cable.

--T

Terry Yager
September 16th, 2006, 07:03 PM
looks just like this one:

http://cgi.ebay.com/TEXAS-INSTRUMENTS-Color-Monitor-Mdl-PHA-4100A-PHA4100A_W0QQitemZ220028042612QQihZ012QQcategoryZ1 247QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

but with no "A" in the model.

They are very nice monitors, I'm sure you'll be pleased with it. I love mine.

--T

NathanAllan
September 17th, 2006, 02:53 AM
They are very nice monitors, I'm sure you'll be pleased with it. I love mine.

--T
I'm sure I will. It's heavy for its size and has a good look to it. Nice and solid. I'll try to connect it via the RF plug from the ST, the only thing I'm worried about is sound-- will the monitor send it to the tube and fry anything? I only say this cause of the seperate sound jack. I'll do some more lookin up on it, see what I can find.

I forgot to mention, I helped identify a PC that she had for $50 (ram, processor speed/type, general stuff about the machine for selling) and she gave me this really cool neat old TANDY mobile phone! The thing is a brick, and its battery seems to be six AA nicd's in a large pack. I can't find any pics on the web so I'll post one soon. If it's like these other brick phones I have, it'll probably ask me to sign up for service :D

NathanAllan
September 22nd, 2006, 07:03 AM
I forgot to mention, I helped identify a PC that she had for $50 (ram, processor speed/type, general stuff about the machine for selling) and she gave me this really cool neat old TANDY mobile phone! The thing is a brick, and its battery seems to be six AA nicd's in a large pack. I can't find any pics on the web so I'll post one soon. If it's like these other brick phones I have, it'll probably ask me to sign up for service :D

Kmart had a bunch of cordless phone batteries on clearance for a dollar a pack of two so I bought three of them and used the cells for this thing's battery and the phone works. It wants to talk to Verizon (it's the network). So three out of three tests conclude that YES old phones are just as viable today as when they came out in the early nineties. Has anyone here ever been told that the networks and towers they use no are incompatible with the older phones? It's bull. I have three phones that all want to connect, all bricks.