PDA

View Full Version : Writing Mac floppies under Windows



atari2600a
September 16th, 2006, 08:32 PM
I'm a Mac n00b, & I just got a 1MB Mac Plus from someone on Craigslist. Problem is, I have no Hard disk for it. (So I boot to the floppy request screen)

I know very little about Macs & stuff. So...Is there a Windows program that will write a Mac floppy image under Windows?

EDIT: I MIGHT have an external Mac CD drive from somewhere else. Anyone think it can read CD-R's &/or if I could boot from it?

Jorg
September 16th, 2006, 11:57 PM
Yes, that does exist- I had one for win 3.11 (last time I worked with a Mac, it was that long ago ;)
I'm going to dig a bit to find the name-

atari2600a
September 17th, 2006, 12:02 AM
Does anyone know if Winimage will do the trick?

crazypigeon
September 17th, 2006, 01:15 AM
I belive transmac can write mac disks. However, that will not help you in this instance, because the mac plus has an 800kb drive in it, and you can't write mac 800k disks under windows.

atari2600a
September 17th, 2006, 01:19 AM
OK, let's say I "somehow" get OSX running on one of my windows machines. You know, theoretically. Would THAT do the trick?

carlsson
September 17th, 2006, 06:56 AM
Maybe if you get a custom floppy drive controller. However I doubt even a CatWeasel or alike can read/write Mac floppies due to the Macintosh uses adjustable rotation speed and most floppy drive mechanisms don't support that.

bbcmicro
September 17th, 2006, 07:11 AM
A guy once sent me some utilities for this very problem, but I have since lost the email and done a system restore. It was a self extracting OS 6 boot disk...

Once you have your mac booted to OS 6, then a little program called DOS Mounter (Or DOSmounter?) was useful. When installed on a system it could create a disk that a Mac and an PC could read.

I'll see if I can find my post on the list, many moons ago.

bbcmicro
September 17th, 2006, 07:18 AM
http://mes.emuunlim.com/macemu/basilisk2/basilisk2help/step3_floppy.htm
http://groups.google.co.uk/group/vintage-macs/browse_thread/thread/e98e801674a19b14/883a7f194be50869?hl=en#883a7f194be50869

These may be useful :)

You will be better off at first with OS 6.0.8 opposed to 7.xx

Unknown_K
September 17th, 2006, 07:40 AM
Find the local Mac user group and have somebody make you up some OS floppies. To properly make 800K disks you need an old 68K Mac (newer PPC macs have different drives and they don't work well on 800K floppies).

800K (3.5" DD disks) are also a bit hard to find these days, so look around for them.

ahm
September 21st, 2006, 10:38 AM
I realize you're asking for Windows, but I think I've been able to create Mac floppies for my SE/30 using Linux. If you're interested, I'll see if I can find my notes.

compu_85
September 23rd, 2006, 08:46 AM
Ya, to write an 800K floppy for your Plus, you need an older Mac. The 400k and 800k disks are recoded at a variable speed.

I use a SE with 800k disks to write the images for Lisa disks.

-Jason

atari2600a
October 8th, 2006, 03:26 PM
I just right now remembered my LCII! Can I write 800K disks w/ the drive in my LCII?

compu_85
October 8th, 2006, 08:47 PM
Probably. I have been able to write some 400k disks in the early 1.44M "Super Drive" drives.

-Jason

atari2600a
October 9th, 2006, 12:26 AM
OK, now I need to find a store that still sells floppies! The surplus MIGHT have some, but I can't be certain. Costco & Sams Club stopped selling them years ago, Fry's is a 1/2 hour drive away, & I'm getting tired of writing over my step father's dieing 15yr floppies...

applefreak
October 12th, 2006, 02:25 PM
the best mac to read/write old 400 or 800 disks is a macintosh IIci with system 6 and disk copy 4.2

atari2600a
October 12th, 2006, 03:23 PM
You know, I think I saw a IIci at a flea market in a warehouse once. I don't know why I didn't grab it...

Sharkonwheels
October 13th, 2006, 09:56 PM
I have a Quadra 60 for that. half the height of a IIci, and yet it has a 68040/25 (mine has a 68040/33, and I did the resistor trick to go to 33Mhz).
On top of that, the Q605 will take a single 72-pin SIMM, but it'll take up to a 128Mb stick, plus 4 on the MoBo = 132MB! I have I think MacOS 8.1 on it, runs really nice!

OK - back OT - if you can find a Central Point Copy II PC Deluxe Option Board, your in luck in the PC world. I just gave one to a friend in April. The others chiming in are correct - 400/800k floppy writing is not compatible with the floppy controller chips on PC's. another option is the Catweasel PCI controller, from Individual Computers (www.jschoenfeld.com). I think there's one on eBay now, or was. another place to find these is www.softhut.com, but they are not cheap: $120-150 or so.

Cheapest option is finding an older 68xxx mac to use! A Quadra 605 (or LC475 - same deal) is a relatively small box to use. IIci, IIsi, etc... wil also do.

That thing will really only be happy with MacOS 6.0.8 or so.
Make sure to find the 4MB hack, if your Plus doesn't already have it. you snip some resistors or capacitors, and bump it to 4MB RAM by replacing the SIMMS

Here's the link : http://macplus.mia.net/installram.html


Tony

atari2600a
October 13th, 2006, 10:06 PM
It's a 2MB model; why would I want it at 1MB?

Anyways, I can't seem to find my mouse & keyboard for my LCII (probably spent 5 minutes digging around in rubbish to find my VGA adapter), so it looks like I'm temporarily screwed...again...

Sharkonwheels
October 13th, 2006, 10:26 PM
Ya read it before I corrected it :D
I meant 1MB to 4MB.

I have a ton of extra mac-to-VGA adapters, if'n ya need one.


Tony

Sharkonwheels
October 13th, 2006, 10:34 PM
Oh, BTW, I'm pretty sure a Plus won't boot from a CD.

also, I have DS/DD 720K 3.5" floppies if ya need a stack. I bought like 1000 in bulk a couple years back, to have some for my IIgs and Amiga machines, mostly the IIgs, though.

If ya want a stack, lemme know. I think they're sealed 25-to-a pack. Just pay the shipping, and I'll throw ya a stack. Oh, I don;t have labels, though.
They're white, so you can use a sharpie, or find oether stickers. what I need to find is DS/DD 5.25" floppies.

I also have a ton of 68K mac software, as well. :D

Hotline is great for 68K mac software downloads.


Tony

applefreak
October 14th, 2006, 08:32 AM
I have a Quadra 60 for that. half the height of a IIci, and yet it has a 68040/25 (mine has a 68040/33, and I did the resistor trick to go to 33Mhz).
On top of that, the Q605 will take a single 72-pin SIMM, but it'll take up to a 128Mb stick, plus 4 on the MoBo = 132MB! I have I think MacOS 8.1 on it, runs really nice!
Working with older disk images

System 6, you should use Disk Copy 4.2 to work with 400K/800K disks and images.
This is ideal, since System 6 can read/write 400K disks, which normally use the Macintosh File System (MFS) format.
800K disks use a different format: the Hierarchical File System (HFS).
System 6 is fluent in both formats.
It is possible to format 400K disks using HFS, but they can't be used as startup disks

(on a IIci : 6.0.4 to 6.0.8 (best) : http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=18046 )

System 7 is not ideal, since it does not handle the MFS format properly.
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=9502

With OS 7.6, Apple dropped support for writing to the MFS format.
With OS 8, it dropped MFS support altogether.

.

Kanderson0
December 30th, 2017, 10:34 AM
Iíve just discovered that if you happen to have an old Apple ii with an 800k drive, you can use ADTPro to send Mac disk images from a PC.