PDA

View Full Version : DOS 5.0 on IBM 5150



bettablue
August 17th, 2014, 04:06 PM
Is the 5150 powerful enough to run DOS 5 and it's GUI? Where can I get an electronic copy of the DOS 5.0 manual?

As always, thank you.

per
August 17th, 2014, 04:42 PM
The 5150 is capable of running DOS 5.0 at the command line at least, but be aware that the more recent versions of DOS uses more memory than the older versions. When it comes to DOSSHELL, I've never really tried but I guess it should run. Heck, even Windows 3.0 runs on an 5150.

bobba84
August 18th, 2014, 03:08 PM
Hi Thomas! :)

www.loonage.com/users/bobby/dos5.zip

Bobby.

bettablue
August 18th, 2014, 04:04 PM
Hi Thomas! :)

www.loonage.com/users/bobby/dos5.zip

Bobby.

Excellent! This will do nicely. Thanks Bobby.

Per... I know there is a pretty big hit in memory use with the higher versions of DOS. With that said, I've been playing with adding memory to one of my 5150 machines, which is running with an XT-CF Lite rev 4 board installed. With that in mind, I want to play with the different DOS versions, and DOS shell programs to get the optimal setup for these machines. Don't worry, if I don't like what I see, and the memory usage is too high to run a good word processor, along with the GUI, then I'll try something else. So far, DOS 33 with Menu Works 2.10 seems to work best. But I still want to try DOS 5 and it's GUI, just for sh_ts and giggles..

Ole Juul
August 18th, 2014, 04:21 PM
I know there is a pretty big hit in memory use with the higher versions of DOS.

I'm not sure what you mean by that. I've not found a big difference in memory usage. Where the difference occurs is with the OS size - particularly when using a floppy. On a 360k you can run into trouble with the newer versions. Here is an abbreviated list of OS sizes. I'm assuming the use of COMMAND.COM.

DOS 6.0 - 131,533 bytes
DOS 5.0 - 118,669 bytes
DOS 3.2 - 77,793 bytes
DOS 2.1 - 39,552 bytes

As for memory footprint, vwestlife gave us a nice list a little while ago:


PC DOS 2.00 ... 630,672 bytes
PC DOS 2.10 ... 630,672
PC DOS 3.10 ... 616,432
MS-DOS 3.10 ... 616,432
PC DOS 3.21 ... 609,392
PC DOS 3.30 ... 600,528
MS-DOS 3.30 ... 600,368
IBM DOS 5.00 ... 593,328
MS-DOS 5.00 ... 593,328
MS-DOS 6.00 ... 592,256
IBM DOS 6.10 ... 593,056
MS-DOS 6.22 ... 592,256
PC DOS 6.30 ... 593,024
PC DOS 7.00 Revision 0 ... 593,840
PC DOS 2000 (7.00 Revision 1) ... 593,760

You can see that there is only 38,344 bytes difference between DOS 2.1 and DOS 5.0. On a 64K machine that is significant but if you have 640K it hardly matters.

Stone
August 18th, 2014, 04:22 PM
I would hardly call DosShell a GUI. :-) But that's me.

There's a program that will allow some UMBs on a PC or XT. That will let you load some stuff high. It's called USE!UMBS.

bobba84
August 18th, 2014, 04:33 PM
I would hardly call DosShell a GUI. :-) But that's me.

There's a program that will allow some UMBs on a PC or XT. That will let you load some stuff high. It's called USE!UMBS.

Interesting! I'll have to suss that one out!

bettablue
August 18th, 2014, 04:52 PM
Interesting! I'll have to suss that one out!

I'm interested... That might be fun to somehow add in another 360 Kb to fill out the 1 MB that the 5150, and 5160 is supposedly capable of handling. Hmm.

Al Hartman
August 18th, 2014, 04:55 PM
There's a thread here that talks about taking a 5160 board to 1mb.

Stone
August 18th, 2014, 04:57 PM
I'm interested... That might be fun to somehow add in another 360 Kb to fill out the 1 MB that the 5150, and 5160 is supposedly capable of handling. Hmm.It won't give you 384K... but it might give you some more wiggle room. Only certain memory areas can be addressed with this.

Stone
August 18th, 2014, 04:58 PM
There's a thread here that talks about taking a 5160 board to 1mb.Do you think that's vague enough? :-)

bettablue
August 18th, 2014, 05:20 PM
There's a thread here that talks about taking a 5160 board to 1mb.

It's located here:

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/showthread.php?42132-1MB-memory-on-IBM-5160&highlight=1+MB+on+5160

mikeslot2
September 12th, 2014, 06:44 PM
What are you willing to pay for the older pc's. I have a few

Al Hartman
September 14th, 2014, 05:48 PM
Do you think that's vague enough? :-)

Yup. What's funny is that the thread I was referring to was a link YOU provided...

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/showthread.php?39319-640k-mod-not-working&p=294861#post294861