PDA

View Full Version : uIEC and .D64



phogren
August 22nd, 2014, 11:14 AM
I finally have gotten around to working a little with a uIEC sd card reader. It was a little confusing at first but after learning a few simple commands - I really like it. I may get a SDIDEC for my 128 if it will be recognized while in CP/M mode.
My question is: What is the best way to extract .D64 (and all the other formats) that are on the card? I can do them on my MSDOS machine and then transfer them but life would be easier with a program that would extract them using a 64 or 128.

AMenard
August 22nd, 2014, 11:23 AM
The most easy solution that I know is to use a XA1541 cable if you can find one. It let you plug a 1541 drive to the parallel port of your PC.

http://sta.c64.org/xa1541.html

dabone
August 22nd, 2014, 11:36 AM
You can use the .d64 directly.
Just cd into them just like a directory.

Also you can use one of the browsers for the commodore also to browse your collection easier.

Here is a wiki page for you.

http://www.c64-wiki.com/index.php/sd2iec_(firmware)

The google discussion group for questions and lots of help is here.


https://groups.google.com/forum/#!forum/uiec-users


Later,
dabone

phogren
August 22nd, 2014, 06:09 PM
so I guess I'm missing something. If I am not using a browser:
open 1,10,15,"cd/file.d64/":close 1
(assuming I'm i am in the correct directory)
will give me the files in the .d64? It doesn't work for me.

billdeg
August 23rd, 2014, 03:41 PM
keep at it, you're close (dv = DRIVE NUMBER)...in c64 mode

How to change into a DIR
OPEN15,dv,15:PRINT#15,"CD/directoryname":CLOSE15

How to mount a disk image
OPEN15,dv,15:PRINT#15,"CD:imagename.D64":CLOSE15

so, just copy the DIRs or .D64 files to your SD card and then run these commands.

If you've done it right you can type LOAD"$",dv
...to see the files in the D64. Usually run using LOAD"*",dv,1

Note - I run a program to change my uIEC to be drive 8 from drive 10 first, then load the D64 because a lot of programs assume it's in drive 8.

Bill

RobertB
August 23rd, 2014, 09:54 PM
...life would be easier with a program that would extract them using a 64 or 128.I use Errol Smith's D64it (for the C64) and D128it (for the C128 ). it seems to be picky in that it needs a 1541 or 1541-II -- not a 1571 -- to dearchive to a 5 1/4" disk. (Well, not the 1571 in my C128DCR...)

Truly,
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group
http://www.dickestel.com/fcug.htm

P.S. There are D64it's for the VIC-20 and the Plus/4, too.

RobertB
August 24th, 2014, 02:43 PM
Ah, I almost forgot about CBM-Command for the C64, C128, VIC-20, Plus/4, and PET/CBM line of computers.

That would work, too,
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group
http://www.dickestel.com/fcug.htm