PDA

View Full Version : Unable to boot into IBM DOS 3.1

ShadowStormX
October 6th, 2014, 06:24 PM
Hello all,

I recently picked up a IBM 5150. I am new at retro computing...

How can I load DOS 3.1 from floppy drive. The computer would keep poping up 409C 201. I thought this means memory error somewhere.

However...if I take the disk out and turned on the computer, it boots into IBM Basic 1.10.... What am I doing wrong?

This kind of computer uses 2 Full-Height original floppy drive, so no hard drive.

Stone
October 7th, 2014, 12:06 PM
It does mean a memory error. 409C is the hex address of the error. I think that's on an expansion board. The reason it boots to basic without a disk is that it doesn't need that bad memory to run BASIC. But it does to run DOS. If you track down the chip that corresponds to 409C and replace it you might get lucky.

SpidersWeb
October 7th, 2014, 01:07 PM
Double check that error code, if it really is 409C then that'd be memory on an expansion card which you could pull out / replace. (40xx = 256KB).
DOS 3.1 should run with 256KB no problem (I use MS DOS 3.3 on my 256KB clones).

If sorting that out doesn't help, I'd test the disk works in another machine, and preferably using the same drive (e.g. move it between case) just to be sure that part of it is working.

modem7
October 7th, 2014, 11:00 PM
Lots of IBM 5150 information at http://www.minuszerodegrees.net
From that site:

The format of a RAM error is "bbxx 201". An example is "0510 201".
The "bb" portion of "bbxx" indicates which 4 KB block contains the faulty RAM.
The "xx" portion of "bbxx" indicates which bit in the block is the faulty one.

So yes, the 40 in your 409C indicates an error at the 256 KB address. The 9C in your 409C indicates that bits 2,3,4 and 7 are faulty.