PDA

View Full Version : Seagate ST351A/X Jumpers for an XT-Clone



KLund1
November 16th, 2014, 06:57 PM
Hi
https://www-user.tu-chemnitz.de/~kzs/hdd.dat/seagate/at/st351ax.html
shows the same jumper settings for both AT and XT modes for this drive. I need XT mode.
Other sites like this:
ftp://ftp.seagate.com/techsuppt/at/st351ax.txt
are unreadable to me.
My drives jumpers are set like in the first example.
When I boot my clone, I do not get an 1701 error, but when I try fdisk i get "No fixed Disk Attached" with DOS 3.3
I do not know if I need to use Debug. If I do, I do not know what switches, and values to use for this drive.
The drive spins up and appears to be in good working order.
I have read that bad jumper settings for this drive might kill it. here : http://redhill.net.au/d/16.php
Any suggestions?
Thanks

modem7
November 17th, 2014, 09:48 PM
Hi
https://www-user.tu-chemnitz.de/~kzs/hdd.dat/seagate/at/st351ax.html
shows the same jumper settings for both AT and XT modes for this drive. I need XT mode.
Other sites like this:
ftp://ftp.seagate.com/techsuppt/at/st351ax.txt
are unreadable to me.
Have you seen http://stason.org/TULARC/pc/hard-drives-hdd/seagate/ST351A-43MB-3-5-SL-IDE-AT.html

KLund1
November 18th, 2014, 09:56 PM
Thank you,
Not much new there.
I'm pretty much stumped on what to do to get this HD unit working. Perhaps a different drive I should get?
Any help in the North Calif, San Fransisco, South or East Bay Area?? Get together and work this out?

SpidersWeb
November 19th, 2014, 11:04 AM
Once you've set the jumpers correctly... if nothing happens....

What controller are you using? What computer?
Just want to make sure you've got an Extension ROM setup somewhere so the computer can actually use the drive.

KLund1
November 19th, 2014, 08:15 PM
Thanks everyone for your replies!
Here are some pictures of the Drive controller board. I do not think it is 3rd party board. It has Atari printed on it. The IC with the gray circle looks like an eprom.
It is a ATARI PCH204 for a Atari PC-1, an XT class clone.
The PC1 and PCH204 are matched and they should 'talk' to each other without any modification of jumpers of which neither have internally. All cable connections are sound. The cut lines in the IDE cable are from Atari. It is not an after market hack. I think the jumpers on the HD may be wrong. When power only is applied to the HD it spins up and the drive head moves a few times, and the greed led on the HD goes out. When the IDE cable is connected, the drive head dose not move and the green led stays lit.

KLund1
November 20th, 2014, 09:48 PM
I got it to work! I found a diagram of the actual drive, and jumper orientation. I tested with a few jumper settings that I now know will not kill the drive. I finally stumbled on the right jumper settings. My Atari PC1 can now see the Atari PCH204 HD!! Partitioned/formatted /s and it boots from c:
Thanks for you help. Along with Atari-Age help, I got this rare machine back to life.
Thanks everyone!!!
KLund1

ua1osm
June 24th, 2017, 07:02 AM
Please do publish what you found to help other people. I have two 351A/X, but have no single ISA-8 controller.

1ST1
June 25th, 2017, 10:17 AM
Yes, post your setting and how the harddisk is mounted in the PC1. This should be a quite rare working config!