PDA

View Full Version : Windows 3.0a Frozen Cursor



nc_mike
November 20th, 2014, 02:23 PM
I've installed a Microsoft serial mouse on my PC/XT. It works just fine under DOS; I use CTMouse. It works fine in WordPerfect 5.x as well. When I installed Windows 3.0a (I have an InBoard 386 BTW), the mouse pointer appears and is dead center on the screen. I can navigate Windows menus etc with the keyboard, but the mouse remains frozen. I am not sure what to try next. I know the mouse is working fine otherwise off the com port and no address or IRQ interrupts (the mouse test works fine under CTMouse test). Ideas?

Regards,
Mike

krebizfan
November 20th, 2014, 04:58 PM
Do you have the special Intel Inboard version of Windows 3? The Inboard on an XT behaves differently than a typical 386.
Some references
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/KbView/88572
http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/archive/index.php/t-3203.html

nc_mike
November 20th, 2014, 05:48 PM
Do you have the special Intel Inboard version of Windows 3? The Inboard on an XT behaves differently than a typical 386.
Some references
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/KbView/88572
http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/archive/index.php/t-3203.html

yes, I do have the Intel Inboard/386 PC, but I am using the Win 3.0a version that I understand it needs, Plus, I get the exact same behavior when I run Windows 1.03 - so I don't think its the Win version causing it.

Mike

SomeGuy
November 20th, 2014, 06:22 PM
Is the mouse attached to COM1 or COM2 with standard Port/IRQ configurations?
I'd double check for a resource conflict, I had a similar issue with Windows 95 a while back - mouse worked in DOS, but not in Windows. Wound up removing an unused SCSI card to fix that.

nc_mike
November 20th, 2014, 08:54 PM
Is the mouse attached to COM1 or COM2 with standard Port/IRQ configurations?
I'd double check for a resource conflict, I had a similar issue with Windows 95 a while back - mouse worked in DOS, but not in Windows. Wound up removing an unused SCSI card to fix that.

Yes indeed the IRQ was the culprit. I had it on IRQ3 and it the mouse was working fine in DOS (WP) but not in Windows; once I changed it to IRQ4 it works just fine in both. Thank you.

Regards,
Mike