PDA

View Full Version : GIDE and Osborne



Sharkonwheels
September 29th, 2006, 04:45 PM
anyone got or know of a standard GIDE for sale?
Actually, a KC GIDE would be best!

Anyone know of anyone getting one working in an Osborne1?


Tony

Terry Yager
September 29th, 2006, 04:48 PM
Check with Tilmon Reh, in comp.os.cpm. Last I knew (early spring?), he was planning another run, if there was enough interest (50 orders?). Mebbe he has some available (I ain't been following the ng much lately).

--T

ahm
September 29th, 2006, 06:26 PM
Try http://www.gaby.de/gide/index.htm

curtis
October 15th, 2006, 04:50 PM
anyone got or know of a standard GIDE for sale?
Actually, a KC GIDE would be best!

Anyone know of anyone getting one working in an Osborne1?


Tony

Tony,

Was on the CPM bulletin board and found they've decided to run another batch of GIDE's. Here's the link:
http://www.iee.et.tu-dresden.de/~kc-club/gide/gide.html

Curtis

Sharkonwheels
October 15th, 2006, 06:33 PM
Dude!

Thanks for the heads up! The KC is the one I wanted, as it supports laptop IDE drives!

Heading over there now...


Where is this CP/M Bulletin Board?



Tony

ahm
October 15th, 2006, 07:19 PM
Where is this CP/M Bulletin Board?
.de is Deutschland, aka Germany.

Sharkonwheels
October 15th, 2006, 08:33 PM
I didn't mean physically - I meant web address for the forum/bbs....


Tony

chuckcmagee
October 15th, 2006, 08:37 PM
<smile> he might be trying to tell you that it's all in German. Look around that first URL (like try HOME).

I took German in college for 2 WEEKS. One German word covered 1 and 1/2 lines in a book I was looking at, One word! I was taking the course Pass-Fail so I dropped it fast.

Mike Chambers
October 16th, 2006, 08:25 AM
anyone got or know of a standard GIDE for sale?
Actually, a KC GIDE would be best!

Anyone know of anyone getting one working in an Osborne1?


Tony

this may be a dumb question, but what is a GIDE?

i have an osborne 1, though :)

Sharkonwheels
October 16th, 2006, 11:12 AM
To add a hard disk to a Z80 machine.

You unplug the Z80, plug in the GIDE board, and plug the Z80 onto the GIDE board.

I guess, to make it simple, it goes between the machine's Z80 CPU, and it's socket.


check out http://www.gaby.de/gide

This is a nice redesign, supporting laptop ide-style connector, and RTC:

http://www.iee.et.tu-dresden.de/~kc-club/gide/gide.html




Tony

curtis
October 16th, 2006, 04:34 PM
I didn't mean physically - I meant web address for the forum/bbs....


Tony

comp.os.cpm It's under newsgroups. I've got it through my ISP. Most ISP's offer newsgroups for little or no charge.

Sharkonwheels
October 16th, 2006, 07:42 PM
Ah, Usenet, why didn'tcha' say so? :D

Where ya think I get my softs from ?? :rolleyes:


Tony

curtis
October 17th, 2006, 04:07 PM
Ah, Usenet, why didn'tcha' say so? :D

Where ya think I get my softs from ?? :rolleyes:


Tony

Can you say brainfart? Too much fun over the weekend and too little sleep.

Sharkonwheels
October 17th, 2006, 09:57 PM
Hmmmm....

"Cerebral Flatulence" sounds a little better.... :D

Tony

Sharkonwheels
October 20th, 2006, 05:45 PM
FYI - Placed my order for one today.
I'll let you guys know "whassup" when it arrives in a couple weeks.


Tony

Sharkonwheels
October 27th, 2006, 09:08 PM
Got the KC-Club GIDE adapter in the mail today - nice piece of kit.

These guys are good.

If you're reading this, which I doubt, thanks Frank!

Anyways - lemme know if you guys want pics while I build the kit. Gott get a better soldering iron, though.

I KNOW I'm gonna have a question, though, and see it already:

There are (2) 40-pin sockets on this puppy, and they're on opposite side of the PCB, offset by a couple mm. Now, once you solder one in, all's fine. but, when you go to solder the one on the opposite side, the pins to solder are blocked by the other socket you soldered in already?!?!? :confused:

I guess careful soldering, and a very fine point sodlering iron?

Here's pics to show:

http://www.iee.et.tu-dresden.de/~kc-club/gide/gide2.html

Look at the last picture, which is a PCB end-on shot. If you look on top-side, behind the black capacitor, you see a socket with an IC, and you can see the one on the underside, and you can see they are offset by like 2mm or so.

You can see my dilemma, my not being a soldering expert!

FYI - this is an IDE host adapter board for Z80 machines. I plan on putting it on either my Osborne 1, or a (hopefully) soon to be acquired Kaypro. I'm having doubts on the Osborne, as mine has a Nuevo DS/DD+80column upgrade, and I can;t see finding source to THAT BIOS (for auto-booting hard disk), unless I find a stock OCC1. I'd prefer an OCC2 at this point, though - larger screen, or the utimate would be a kaypro, though. The board has both standard 3.5" 40-pin IDE interface, and a 44-pin laptop style port as well. I ordered (2) 20MB KittyHawk 44-pin IDE drives from an eBay vendor here:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=140043242347

Which SHOULD be the ticket - 20MB on CP/M is a ton!
And this thing will be super low-power, small, and quiet!

Me thinks I will get to learn CP/M very intimately REALLY quick - I've been reading through sources, and reading the alteration guide...and got a headache! I'm no programmer, but I'm hoping to kludge something together by seeing the GIDE work of others!



Tony

chuckcmagee
October 27th, 2006, 10:02 PM
Yep, need a fine point soldering iron. Keep it tinned nice too. Trip to Radio Shack time, I guess. I have one but I use it all the time nowadays.

Sharkonwheels
October 27th, 2006, 10:44 PM
I might hold out a little, and get one of the variable-temp soldering stations off fleaBay...I dunno....


Tony

Mike Chambers
October 28th, 2006, 11:18 AM
<smile> he might be trying to tell you that it's all in German. Look around that first URL (like try HOME).

I took German in college for 2 WEEKS. One German word covered 1 and 1/2 lines in a book I was looking at, One word! I was taking the course Pass-Fail so I dropped it fast.

warum hast du das nicht fur ein bischen mehr zeit versuchen? deutsch is nicht so schwierig! :)

Mike Chambers
October 28th, 2006, 11:20 AM
man i had no idea there was anything like GIDE for z80s!!! i am really tempted to get one for my osborne, that's freakin awesome! man that'd be sweet. pull out one of those double-height floppies, and put an IDE hard drive and a CD-ROM in it's place. i wonder if i can burn DVD's from the osborne. (that is, without having died of old age by the time it's done) :eek:

on a similar note, i've burned a CD on my 386 DX/40 and even that was painful... thank God there was only about 20 MB i wanted to burn.

mbbrutman
October 28th, 2006, 12:13 PM
Good heavens - why on earth would you do that when you can transfer the data to a more suitable machine? :-)

GIDE is really interesting - the technical writeup is very good. A few of us PCjr types have been kicking around the idea of trying to graft an IDE adapter on to the system, and having a good technical background of how they are constructed makes it easier to think about such a project.