PDA

View Full Version : ZX Spectrum Video Problem

ricardex
March 11th, 2015, 12:45 PM
Hi there,

does anyone knows what can cause a problem like this? It's not the screen refresh rate... this is really happening on the screen.
It's happening with and without the composite video mod. So I guess it's not a problem with the UHF modulator.

Don't know what to do... help?!

:?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zk-PO2t3fDc&feature=youtu.be

jltursan
March 13th, 2015, 12:20 AM
I'm not an expert at all; but seems some kind of power ripple. Try to:

- Test another TV set.
- Change power supply. You know, anyone with 9VC (centre negative) will do.
- Check power lines in the machine, look for noise.

The DC-DC circuit must have some problem.

Of course drying capacitors can be also a source of problems; so it's always a good idea to do a full recapping.

SiriusHardware
March 13th, 2015, 11:07 AM
I agree with the previous diagnosis, this is power supply ripple.

If it's happening twice per 50Hz screen refresh I would say it's 100Hz ripple so the prime suspect may be the smoothing capacitor inside the external power supply.

It should be flattening out the 100Hz pulsed output from the full-wave rectifier, but doesn't appear to be doing it very well.

If you have another PSU try it, if you don't, safely dismantle the power supply (ie, unplug it first) and have a look at the capacitor. Even if it does not look distressed, replace it anyway.

If there are more than two bars on the screen this suggests ripple of a higher frequency than 100Hz, in which case one of the capacitors inside the Spectrum is a more likely cause.

ricardex
March 13th, 2015, 12:25 PM
You're both right!! Amazing!!