PDA

View Full Version : IBM Multiprise 3000



maxfli
April 4th, 2015, 02:55 PM
Can you run Linux/390 on the IBM Multiprise 3000 systems? Do you need any licenses to run this?

HoJoPo
April 4th, 2015, 04:19 PM
It looks like it was planned to be possible, at least in some configurations: http://www-01.ibm.com/common/ssi/rep_ca/8/897/ENUS101-278/ENUS101-278.PDF

It appears to have been a hardware upgrade for some systems, adding a G5 processor to H30 and H50 models: http://www.dich.com.tw/Product/Server/Ibm/zSeries/3000.pdf

It probably doesn't require a license for Linux itself, but it may to have LPAR support to run Linux in conjunction with another OS.

g4ugm
April 5th, 2015, 01:10 AM
According to

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multiprise_3000

(which may be wrong) it already has a G5 processor. I am pretty sure the idea of the upgrade is make the machine faster, but not for "traditional" work loads. The "Integrated Facility For Linux" is basically good old fashioned "cripple ware". The chip and the "MVS" software is knobbled so that you can't run MVS on an IFL. This is despite it having exactly the same instruction set as the normal chips.

So if it will run Linux in an added IFL it will run Linux on the main machine. If you only want one OS then you don't need LPARs. Why you want to do this I am not sure. But if you do then Debian says its fully supported:-

http://www.debian.org/releases/woody/s390/ch-hardware-req.en.html

and the IBM Red Book is here:-

http://www.redbooks.ibm.com/pubs/pdfs/redbooks/sg246264.pdf

maxfli
April 5th, 2015, 03:37 AM
Thanks for the info.

m_thompson
April 5th, 2015, 06:08 AM
The RICM has a System/390 Multiprise 2003 (http://www.ricomputermuseum.org/Home/equipment/ibm-system390) that should also run Linux.
We we still need to get some cassettes to hold disk SCSI drives, and reconstruct the boot/maintenance PC.
We will get more donated tape drives for the system next week.
We know nearly nothing about this system.

maxfli
April 5th, 2015, 07:18 AM
The system I was looking at was a Multiprise 3000 model 7060.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/IBM-s-390-Mainframe-7060-Multiprise-3000-/251899326544?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3aa65eb050