PDA

View Full Version : OS/2 Warp 4 fits



Vlad
October 14th, 2006, 03:29 PM
OS/2 + IBM Thinkpad + Problem = Vlad's gonna destroy everything in the room.....

Well, not THAT drastic but you get the idea. I have an OS/2 Warp 4 CD, I did what it told me to and used the CD to make the 3 boot disks, Install, and Disks 1 and 2. But when I try to install it, it NEVER looks at the CD and asks for a 3rd floppy it didn't make. :confused: It goes as far as partitioning and setting up the HD, but then before it goes any farther, it wants this 3rd disk that doesn't exist. The CD said to install from the CD, make and use these three disks, but they don't work. What am I doing wrong?

-VK

Unknown_K
October 14th, 2006, 05:26 PM
Do you need a special driver for the cdrom? OS/2 has a few controllers it loads drivers for during the install and if your cdrom is not connected to a device it has a driver for you need to modify one of the floppies to include the driver it needs.

Vlad
October 14th, 2006, 05:45 PM
I'll try the install setup on a different machine.....

-VK

Vlad
October 14th, 2006, 05:52 PM
How well would OS/2 like SCSI? Or just stick to IDE?

-VK

mbbrutman
October 14th, 2006, 06:11 PM
OS/2 of that vintage is going to be very happy with IDE or any major brand SCSI.

chuckcmagee
October 14th, 2006, 06:12 PM
Well, it's worse than that! First, it is 3 (yes 3) floppy disks. When installing, between disk 2 and disk 3, it switches to all OS/2 drivers. When I tried to use one of those USB floppy drives, it died a horrible death at that magic 2-3 point. Couldn't see my floppy drive at all.

I am talking about standard 3.5 floppies (3 of them). Disk count might be different if you are using 1.2MB floppies.

So... if it is 3.5 disks, must have 3 of them to start with. And.... it is a very restricted list of supported devices. Only about 1/2 of my laptops would work.

Vlad
October 14th, 2006, 06:29 PM
I'm going to try it with the Micron Tower I got from Erik. (All SCSI) I hate that Thinkpad, it won't even take Linux. (Thinkpad 380ED) So its probably the problem. I'll bootup the Micron tomorrow and see how it likes OS/2.

I'm using 1.44 3.5 disks. It didn't say, it just said gimme a disk so I can make these.

Terry Yager
October 14th, 2006, 08:09 PM
Y'know, ya could create the entire 70-something disk set...

--T

chuckcmagee
October 14th, 2006, 08:12 PM
Hmm, Terry, were you the first born? I was and you sound like a first born to me. Or, maybe the 2nd kid, the one that gets blamed for everything.

Terry Yager
October 14th, 2006, 08:29 PM
I'm a 'MiddleChild', a whole 'nother syndrome...

http://wvwv.essortment.com/whatismiddlec_rsoe.htm

--T

chuckcmagee
October 14th, 2006, 09:04 PM
Oh ya, when I was installing Warp 4 into a virtual machine, the "boot manager" stuff didn't seem to like "LBA" in the bios. I setup a virtual hard drive of < 528M and that problem went away. Not sure what it was, the IBM ide driver or something to do with the virtual bios. There is a better IDE driver that's free but seems like it would lot of trouble during the install to change drivers. If your BIOS allows the old style 1023 x 16 x 63 (cts) disk setup, do that before starting the install again.

Vlad
October 15th, 2006, 08:07 AM
I gave up trying to get it on the Thinkpad, I'm pretty sure it's unsupported by the way it acts with OS/2 and Linux. Its going to get Windows NT. O_o

Later on, after I clear some space for it, I'm going to try it on something else. Plus, the Thinkpad doesn't have anyway to get into the BIOS that I've ever found. I vagely remember a boot disk that did it, but its not really worth the effort since its not supported by OS/2.

-VK

chuckcmagee
October 15th, 2006, 08:38 AM
I was mainly talking about your next OS/2 attempt on another computer. It's fairly clear you have given up on the Thinkpad.

Vlad
October 15th, 2006, 09:10 AM
Ah, I see. Well, I tried it on the Micron tower, with the same results. I think it wants to install from floppy instead of the CD. I'm going back to the CD and making the disks again. Maybe I just got ahold of a bad floppy or something.

Vlad
October 15th, 2006, 10:14 AM
Well, I found the problem. The Floppy disks I had used were just too old and probably had some track problems. I found and opened a new box of disks and made new ones and it worked awesome on the SCSI Micron tower, until the CD-ROM gave out. It's a caddy loading one and it won't open the metal flap anymore. It just flickes it on the spring. So my install disks work, I just need to get something to install it on now. >_<

-VK

chuckcmagee
October 15th, 2006, 10:55 AM
I have great fun just running Warp 4 in a FREE Microsoft Virtual PC 2004 VM. I have one going right now as we type. There is tons of free software out there to enhance the device drivers for Warp. If you use this VM stuff, you just "bridge" the virtual ethernet card in the VM to a real XP network card, in my case, a yummy superfast wifi-G card.

I finally found a Microsoft product that hooked me in. I use MSN Explorer on all my desktops and laptops. Your "favorites" and email folders follow you around from one machine to the next. In fact, when MSN is down for some reason, I really freak out. I update my favorites so often that MSN is the only place with a real current list.

So... it all means I need to keep XP running to get my MSN fix. Which means I better get to like virtual machines. And I do love them - I just got VMware 4.5 for good price, have Parallels Workstation and MS Vitual PC 2004.

I would have posted all that from Warp using IBM WebExplorer 1.2 but it doesn't know what to do with a "php" chuckle.

chuckcmagee
October 15th, 2006, 11:10 AM
here's a post from a Win98SE VM on the same computer. This one is really fun as you watch all the MS "Support has ended" messages go by when you fire up Win98.

Vlad
October 15th, 2006, 11:31 AM
I don't really care for MS Virtural PC, I used to use VMware Virtural Workstation but I find running the real deal is a lot more fun. Running OS/2 inside a VM on a WAY over powered machine (for OS/2) isn't any fun.

-VK

chuckcmagee
October 15th, 2006, 11:39 AM
I would tend to agree on the "real machine" part until I run into a bunch of unsupported hardware!! USB support in OS/2 and eComStation is poor at best. Most wifi cards aren't supported even in the new eComStation. It's fun until you spend 5 hours trying to find device drivers <shrug>. Which is what got me into the VM stuff in the first place. There your hardware is all plain vanilla junk from 1983 which has tons of support. When it works, real machine installs are much more fun and exciting. The device driver hunt is the only thing that really burns me out.

Terry Yager
October 15th, 2006, 12:13 PM
I gave up trying to get it on the Thinkpad, I'm pretty sure it's unsupported by the way it acts with OS/2 and Linux. Its going to get Windows NT. O_o

Later on, after I clear some space for it, I'm going to try it on something else. Plus, the Thinkpad doesn't have anyway to get into the BIOS that I've ever found. I vagely remember a boot disk that did it, but its not really worth the effort since its not supported by OS/2.

-VK

All of IBM's computers should be able to run thier own OS. I've never seen a ThinkPad that wouldn't. My friend runs it on his TP 365X (75MHz 486).

To access the BIOS setup, hold down the F1 key while booting.

Also, have you searched IBM's website for compatibility issues? (Use your model number as a search key).

--T