PDA

View Full Version : Run a file for me on a DG Nova or Point 4?



firebirdta84
October 11th, 2015, 10:03 PM
Does anyone here have a working DG Nova that they might be willing to try to run a file on?

The first file on my backup tapes for the Microtech is this "Minicom Disk to Tape Backup Utility".

I'm just wondering if it will even run on a DG Nova. The Microtech may have been similar enough to a Point 4 that it would run on a Point 4, but nobody that I've heard of has a running Point 4 right now (if you do, that would be even better), so the next best thing would be the DG Nova, which was supposed to be somewhat compatible with the Point 4, but not as fast.

I'm hoping that a simple stand-alone utility such as this might run on any of these machines.

A download of the binary of that utillity is here: http://bit.ly/1NklvGj

And here's the page on my site which talks more about this utility.
http://microtechm1.blogspot.com/2015/09/minicom-disk-to-tape-copy-utility.html

I'd be very grateful if anyone here would consider trying to run this file on their DG Nova, or similar, please.

And please feel free to tell me if you think I'm pursuing the right or wrong direction. I always appreciate that feedback from those here.

Thanks, everyone.
-AJ

SteveHM
October 12th, 2015, 11:13 PM
Perhaps you could try it yourself using the rather wonderful SimH (http://simh.trailing-edge.com/) emulator?
The Nova emulation is highly configurable, so if the Point 4 really was a Nova you might be able to get close to it with SimH.

Just a thought.

firebirdta84
October 13th, 2015, 09:57 PM
Perhaps you could try it yourself using the rather wonderful SimH (http://simh.trailing-edge.com/) emulator?
The Nova emulation is highly configurable, so if the Point 4 really was a Nova you might be able to get close to it with SimH.

Just a thought.

Thanks, SteveHM, that's a great thought, actually!

In the past few weeks, I've reached out to Bruce Ray, who provided the support for this emulator, and I hope to get some guidance in this area as soon as he has the time.

While I was waiting for him, though, I thought I might ask here about running on real hardware.

But now that you bring it up, I should try to tackle this on my own for a while and see what I learn.

I guess this thought prompts me to add to my question above.

So, does anyone here have experience configuring SimH to a DG Nova config, to start?

As always, I appreciate everyone's feedback here.

-AJ
http://MicrotechM1.blogspot.com