PDA

View Full Version : Q387 Quickware coprocessor emulator registration numbers for free in this thread



george
January 22nd, 2016, 01:41 PM
Hello. Run codes for Q387 emulator V2.3 (the earliest version of which I could find on the Internet) will be given in this thread. You just have to put here your "Machine code" and just in case mention the Q387 version you have/want to use. No other personal information is required or contained in your "Machine code" which is a mere representation of your BIOS checksum(s). The emulator itself is available on many places around the net, for example:

http://www.irls.narod.ru/soft/q387.zip

http://www.radiofan.ru/soft/q387.zip

Unlike later versions this early 1991 version of the emulator is not compatible with EMM managers that use CPU's paging unit (in protected mode) to emulate EMS memory because the emulator was designed to be the only VM86 hypervisor in order to hook interrupts with dos extenders. Therefore this version can coexist only with XMS managers like himem.sys

This thread is intended to draw attention of the authors of this very interesting emulator. Maybe they will be willing to share the source code or other interesting info about this marvelous piece of vintage software after so many years. It will be interesting to collect all versions of Q387/Q87. Until now I have found on the net versions 2.3, 3.1, 3.5, 3.6, 3.65, 3.66, 4.02, 4.13

Later on maybe it will be possible to provide "run codes" for later versions of Q387/Q87. Right now only V2.3 is supported. I even suspect that at some point (after certain version) there were separate demo (that was impossible to activate via any run code) and full versions. I hope some of you that had bought this software could shed more light on to this and thus help in reversing newer versions. Yes, patched/cracked demo versions existed in the past but it is much more cleaner to make it run without modifications the way it was intended to run...And it was much more interesting to figure out the registration algorithm considering the fact that mathematicians were among the creators of this NPU emulator.

george
January 25th, 2016, 06:25 PM
Now all versions are supported just mention which one you used to generate your "Machine code". If you want the "Run number" you receive to work with all versions upwards on a given machine then use the earliest version (3.0a) to generate your "Machine code". Here are the links to some of them (if you find links to versions I have not listed, please add them to this thread, thank you):

V4.13 (the latest I know of) ftp://ftp.sac.sk/pub/sac/utilmisc/q87_413.zip
V4.03 http://hackipedia.org/Software/Applications/Q87,%20Quickware%20(MS-DOS,%20Windows)/exe%2c%20v4.03/q87%5f403.zip
V3.7 http://alpha.tmit.bme.hu/pub/387emu/q387v37.zip
V3.66 http://archives.scovetta.com/pub/fehq/DOSUtils/q387_366.zip
V3.65 ftp://dune.pollub.pl/pub/pc/misc/q387_365.zip
V3.64 http://files.chatnfiles.com/Cream-of-the-Crop/Cream%20of%20the%20Crop%205/CAD/Q387_364.ZIP
V3.5 http://www.dcee.net/Files/Utils/q387_35.zip
V3.3 http://archives.scovetta.com/pub/dr_shareware_gold/utility2/q387_v33.zip
V3.2 http://cd.textfiles.com/nightowl/nopv08/048A/Q387_32B.ZIP
V3.1 http://ftp.lip6.fr/pub/pc/garbo/pc/sysutil/q387_v31.zip
V3.0G http://files.chatnfiles.com/The-Pier-Shareware/The%20Pier%20Shareware%201/045A/Q387V30G.ZIP
V3.0F http://files.chatnfiles.com/The-Pier-Shareware/The%20Pier%20Shareware%201/045A/Q387V30F.ZIP
V3.0A http://cd.textfiles.com/microhaus/mhblackbox5/DOS/UTIL3/Q387V30A.ARJ

anormal
January 31st, 2016, 09:28 AM
Any news on this? did you reserved the serial checking? or what where you looking for?

george
January 31st, 2016, 10:58 AM
Any news on this? did you reserved the serial checking? or what where you looking for?
If you need some run code(s) just post your machine code(s) and mention the version you used to generate them. Your run code(s) will appear here very soon.

Looking for:
a) any unknown version of the emulator (e.g. not listed in the above messages/links);
b) any info from its authors and even the source code...

I wish I could edit my first messages here, never mind here are some "new" additions:

V4.1 http://datasheets.chipdb.org/NexGen/q87_41.exe
V3.71http://cd.textfiles.com/psl/pslv3nv03/DOS/UT_SYSTM/Q87_371.ZIP

Shadow Lord
February 4th, 2016, 08:56 PM
If you need some run code(s) just post your machine code(s) and mention the version you used to generate them. Your run code(s) will appear here very soon.


Why all the fuss? Just post the keygen and anyone who is interested can generate their own run codes on as many machines as they want...

george
February 4th, 2016, 09:17 PM
Why all the fuss? Just post the keygen and anyone who is interested can generate their own run codes on as many machines as they want...

Write your own and post it ;) ...

Shadow Lord
February 4th, 2016, 11:14 PM
Write your own and post it ;) So far it seems there is no interest at all...

I bought a 387 coprocessor for $16 - works better than any emulator.

You seem to be all gung ho over the program. Post your keygen if you want or don't - as you pointed out no one cares that you wrote a keygen and no one is helping you because you are dangling the keygen. I just don't see the point of all the BS of having to post a machine code for any/all machines someone may want to use on this thread and waiting on you to respond. If you want to help out the community and generate interest you can post your keygen and be done with it...

george
February 5th, 2016, 12:03 AM
I bought a 387 coprocessor for $16 - works better than any emulator.

You seem to be all gung ho over the program. Post your keygen if you want or don't - as you pointed out no one cares that you wrote a keygen and no one is helping you because you are dangling the keygen. I just don't see the point of all the BS of having to post a machine code for any/all machines someone may want to use on this thread and waiting on you to respond. If you want to help out the community and generate interest you can post your keygen and be done with it...

I see no rush in all this, they could wait until I respond ;) or instead of spending $16 they (meanwhile) could use a more contemporary cpu with fpu they already have ;) The emulator works with any x86 32bit CPU and above up to the most contemporary ones. Can your $16 coprocessor do that ;)? I guess it supports either only sx or dx 386 class machines of its time but not both...Can you use the coprocessor you bought with NexGen CPU? Can you use it in a mobo with a soldered Intel 80486SX CPU? No you can't, because it is not as good as the emulator is ;) I can also disagree that this is the only way to "help out the community and generate interest". And last but not least are you sure I am using some special software instead of the default windows calculator for that purpose?

KC9UDX
February 5th, 2016, 04:31 AM
Is anyone still trying to run AutoCAD on an 80286?

Trixter
February 5th, 2016, 09:28 AM
I can also disagree that this is the only way to "help out the community and generate interest".

I'm not sure if you realize this or not, but we're not teenagers any more.

If you are trying to impress someone, try posting the information you discovered on how to generate serial numbers for the software. If you want to impress even more, crack the last version of the software so that it doesn't need serial numbers and distribute that instead.

Shadow Lord
February 5th, 2016, 09:48 AM
And last but not least are you sure I am using some special software instead of the default windows calculator for that purpose?

Then post the method/algorithm. Like Trixter said we are not kids anymore...

Shadow Lord
February 5th, 2016, 09:49 AM
Is anyone still trying to run AutoCAD on an 80286?

No, but there is always Falcon 3.0 ;) I think that was the only game that ever used a NPD!

george
February 5th, 2016, 11:44 AM
crack the last version of the software so that it doesn't need serial numbers and distribute that instead.
This dirty not elegant solution was done back in the days as I mentioned in the beginning of the topic. Do you think that the last version is the best one? Every version (and sometimes a couple of files within a version) had to be patched sometimes in several places. A variant is available in another vintage forum right now which I haven't tested. This is utterly uninteresting to me ;) Run numbers are provided here.

Trixter
February 5th, 2016, 01:00 PM
No, but there is always Falcon 3.0 ;) I think that was the only game that ever used a NPD!

Yes, but only if you turned on the realistic flight model. It wasn't required to run the game, which is good because it was slower when turned on. (I would imagine with an FPU emulator it would be nearly useless. FPU emulators are good for getting software working at all, not working well. If you need speed, you buy the coprocessor.)

anormal
February 5th, 2016, 02:08 PM
>I think that was the only game that ever used a NPD!

This is easy to check, just do a binary scan of fpu test code in any decent DOS games collection, you could use Yara for that or something like that. The same could be done for joystick checks, GUS sound code, etc, etc...

Also Q387 is first crypted, and then packed with pklite. Easily unpackable with Cup386 or IUP. I've been tracing a bit... protected mode and so... Maybe i have time these days and could crack this last version (i think the serial generation is about ip=0)... i think the parameter line starts checking here:

seg000:0677 26 67 8A 84 1F 80+ mov al, es:[edi+ebx+80h]

Edit: it seems already was cracked by mighty UCF years ago (4.02), and previous (3.5 and 3.66) by ACE and by Electronic Rats.
So... aborted mission :D

Anyway... who need this today? if you want to give life to and old SX i assume you'll spend some $ in a real hardware :D Just check ebay!

Shadow Lord
February 5th, 2016, 03:23 PM
Yes, but only if you turned on the realistic flight model. It wasn't required to run the game, which is good because it was slower when turned on.

Trixter,

True, that is why I said "used" not need. Of course now a day games use FPUs all the time not to mention GPUs, PPUs, and APUs. I agree completely w/ anormal - in this day and age if you have vintage gear (anything below a 80486DX) you should just sup It up w/ HW for pennies on the dollar... Of course the issue here is not if the program has any use but the way the keygen is being presented.

On a side note: patch vs. KeyGen I have always been partial to KeyGens myself. IMHO they are less messy and more likely to work smoothly (i.e. if the patch misses something or a new version comes out).

george
February 5th, 2016, 08:39 PM
Yes, but only if you turned on the realistic flight model. It wasn't required to run the game, which is good because it was slower when turned on. (I would imagine with an FPU emulator it would be nearly useless. FPU emulators are good for getting software working at all, not working well. If you need speed, you buy the coprocessor.)
Not necessarily. Q387 was approximately 10 times faster than other emulators and on a 386 25/33MHz it achieved the speed of real 80287-6/8MHz used in the same system! That's why it would have been great to have its source code, and info, etc...And q387 absolutely was better than the default math libraries of the compilers. So your speculations are very wrong.


Edit: it seems already was cracked by mighty UCF years ago (4.02), and previous (3.5 and 3.66) by ACE and by Electronic Rats.
So... aborted mission

One of these could be mine :)

Offtopic: Even if you spend some money on fleabay to get something done easier would it make you more knowledgeable? The emulators have their share in lowering the prices of the real hardware faster. I still remember having a 386DX motherboard in 1991/2 for approx. $2000...

mbbrutman
February 5th, 2016, 08:43 PM
I'm sorry I missed this thread earlier. This is not a warez site. Don't think about posting something like that here ...