PDA

View Full Version : SD SBC-200 help

Nama
March 8th, 2016, 10:42 AM
Hi all,
Does anyone here use a SDSystems single board SB-200 using the SD monitor?

I have recently built up a 8 slot S-100 motherboard with the intent to use it with my SBC-200 board. I've never used this board before.
As far as I can tell my motherboard checks out, and all the voltages read ok.
I have plugged in the SBC-200, and I believe I have the jumpers setup correctly to boot from SDmon @ E000h. I see a reset pulse on the Z80, and I see CS lines on the E000h ROM pulsing. Other ROMs CS lines are all low. Have wired up the serial Tx, Rx and GND lines, but I can't seem to get the SDmon '.' prompt on my terminal, and it seems unresponsive to any input from said terminal.
Obviously this problem could be a lot of things, but I just wanted to talk to someone who knows this card so I could get an idea of what I should expect it to do. Just in case there is something in my setup (or the manual) that I'm missing or unaware of.

Thanks

Phil

MicrocomputerSolutions
March 8th, 2016, 01:22 PM
I have a SD Systems SBC-200. It's part of the first S-100 board set that I got running.

What are you using for a ram board? The SBC-200 isn't going to do much without one. It's been a while since I had the SD Systems board set stuffed in my mainframe, but it seems to me that you should get the "." on the screen as soon as you power the system and punch the reset button. I'd step into the other room and power up the board set if I had it installed in a mainframe, but the boards are sitting in a box, since I only have one running mainframe right now, and the Compupro is in it.

Do you have a RS-232 Breakout Box? You need to see if the serial Port on the SBC-200 is looking for handshake before it will send. I don't remember if it does, and I've been using a ribbon cable with all 25 lines connected.