PDA

View Full Version : commodore 1702 monitor



craton765
March 22nd, 2016, 03:45 PM
Hello I just got a 1702 monitor for my C64 over ebay. The first time I turned it on it make a high pitched squeal like nails on a chalkboard and refused to turn on after that. I decide to open it up to see whats wrong and, well...
30241


30242
Basically I want to know how screwed i am, because I think it's time to plan a funeral for this thing.

rittwage
March 22nd, 2016, 03:47 PM
Yeah, the tube is gone forever. Broken, no vacuum.

If it worked before, then possible it took a hit in shipping which broke the neck.

craton765
March 22nd, 2016, 04:03 PM
it was sold as confirmed working so it was probably shipping. Are there any parts in particular I should pull out before getting rid of it to keep as spares for what ever one I try to get next?

pski
March 22nd, 2016, 04:36 PM
I have a 1702 with a broken case that you can have cheap if you are in the NY area. I'm pretty sure the internals are good but I can pull it out and test it if you're interested and nearby.

EagleTG
March 22nd, 2016, 06:16 PM
Depending how far you want to go, you can try a tube swap. What are the details of the label on the back of the CRT tube? Can you snap a picture of that label? If you can find a 13" TV that takes a similar tube and maybe has a similar yoke (if necessary, sorry not familiar if these have bonded yokes). Depending on the tube number, it might not be that hard to find something similar.

retrogear
March 22nd, 2016, 07:16 PM
His photo shows a clamp so not a bonded yoke

EagleTG
March 23rd, 2016, 07:34 AM
Yep, didn't even notice that. My bad.