PDA

View Full Version : IBM 5170 issues with AST Rampage Plus 286 - can't format disks etc, Parity error 2



offensive_Jerk
March 24th, 2016, 12:21 PM
So I've been having trouble with my IBM 5170 with this AST Rampage Plus 286 card. It's the later version card (202349-001) with jumper-less config (for the most part).

Picture and manual Here. (http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=44845)

When I first got the system, it had the card installed, but no drivers loaded. I was having trouble formatting disks. It always fails with Track 0 unusable message. Even on both drives. When I first got the system I swapped the drives in another AT and they worked fine in that computer. I put them back in and got the format error again. When I took the AST Rampage card out, the system then works great. Allows me to format disks normally. Hard drive always worked fine.

Now, I've installed 1mb x 4 SIMMs in the card. I put the card back into my system and the issues appeared again. Can't format diskettes, and once in a while the computer crashes with a Parity Error 2 ?????? ????? message. It did this when I was installing sound blaster drivers for instance.

When I configured the card, I went through the AST automatic configuration utility of all expanded memory and it backfilled the 512 base ram to 640. The manual configuration and 'configure all as linear memory' options didn't seem to work. Now, the system counts to 640kb at boot, and I've set that number in the bios. The Expanded memory has no bios option and I loaded the remm.sys driver in config.sys and it counts 3968 as expected (4096-128 for base RAM).

I don't know why I'm getting this issue. I have ran memory test in CheckIt and it passed.


The Base address is at 0218h
http://www.vcfed.org/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=30316&d=1458850406


The AST "detector.com" utility shows this. I actually have the jumper set on pin 1. If I change to pin 5, then detector recommends pin 1. It keeps switching back and forth.
http://www.vcfed.org/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=30315&d=1458850080


Current Configuration:
http://www.vcfed.org/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=30317&d=1458850507


CheckIt information
http://www.vcfed.org/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=30319&d=1458850687
Memory test
http://www.vcfed.org/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=30320&d=1458850699
Some address info
http://www.vcfed.org/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=30318&d=1458850676




303153031630317303183031930320

krebizfan
March 24th, 2016, 12:55 PM
AST RESEARCH TECHNICAL BULLETIN TB-0278A 08/28/87 RAMPAGE 286 AST customers have reported some difficulties when using the Rampage 286 product. The symptoms occur when the Rampage 286 is being used to fill in conventional memory (below 640K). The actual symptoms are that data is being corrupted during a DMA transfer. This most commonly happens during a copy or back-up type operation. Rampage 286 boards that may exhibit this tendency can be identified by part number "202154-301" revision level "X1". These numbers are located on the circuit side of the board, along the edge of the board on the end opposite the mounting bracket. Observe the circuit side of the board and verify if there is a jumper wire connected to lifted pin U111-19 (74LS245) to pin U76-9 (PLS153). This jumper should correct the problem. If the jumper is not installed and the above problem exists, contact AST Product Support for further instructions. 

Does that match your card? DMA corruption could match your symptoms.

modem7
March 24th, 2016, 01:11 PM
Now, I've installed 1mb x 4 SIMMs in the card.

... and once in a while the computer crashes with a Parity Error 2
Table 5-4 in the user's manual for the Rampage Plus 286 lists compatible 1MB SIMMs. Complying ?

offensive_Jerk
March 24th, 2016, 01:24 PM
AST RESEARCH TECHNICAL BULLETIN TB-0278A 08/28/87 RAMPAGE 286 AST customers have reported some difficulties when using the Rampage 286 product. The symptoms occur when the Rampage 286 is being used to fill in conventional memory (below 640K). The actual symptoms are that data is being corrupted during a DMA transfer. This most commonly happens during a copy or back-up type operation. Rampage 286 boards that may exhibit this tendency can be identified by part number "202154-301" revision level "X1". These numbers are located on the circuit side of the board, along the edge of the board on the end opposite the mounting bracket. Observe the circuit side of the board and verify if there is a jumper wire connected to lifted pin U111-19 (74LS245) to pin U76-9 (PLS153). This jumper should correct the problem. If the jumper is not installed and the above problem exists, contact AST Product Support for further instructions.

Does that match your card? DMA corruption could match your symptoms.

No my card is labled 202349-001

offensive_Jerk
March 24th, 2016, 01:27 PM
Table 5-4 in the user's manual for the Rampage Plus 286 lists compatible 1MB SIMMs. Complying ?
I bought some Simms off someone here but they were not on the list. However, they seem to work better than the Simms that were installed. Those Simms would change memory sizes that would be detected, etc. perhaps this board is that picky. I am guessing the Simms I put in were newer than that manual that I put in.

offensive_Jerk
April 8th, 2016, 05:15 AM
There must be some sort of incompatibility or something, I don't know why it's still doing this.

I've installed 8MB just for kicks and it's detecting it all. Takes forever to count it using the REMM.sys driver at boot though. I know the older version of this card (different model number) recommends setting the IBM 5170 jumper to 256k memory and then using 384k of what the card calls linear memory to backfill to 640k. I tried that and the same thing is happening. Can't format diskettes, track 0 bad.

I also tried changing to 1 wait state and same thing. The manual recommends 0 wait state if the CPU is below 10 mhz.

Perhaps I'll try swapping modules and remove the other 4MB to test. I don't know what else to try.