PDA

View Full Version : any DOS telnet servers?



Mike Chambers
November 21st, 2006, 12:44 PM
i've scoured the web before posting, believe me... does anybody know of a good telnet server for a DOS machine? something that lets me see exactly whats going on on the screen and control it...

or (even better for my purposes) something that does the same thing but over a null modem?

mbbrutman
November 21st, 2006, 01:53 PM
There is a way in DOS to set the console to an auxilliary device, usually COM1. For well behaved DOS applications, you can control the machine from another machine through the serial port. For not-well behaved apps (anything that touches the video buffer or keyboard hardware directly) it will not work.

For the more complicated (and less well behaved) apps you want to find an old version of 'Carbon Copy' or a similar screen scrapper type application.

I don't know of any that work over straight telnet.

Mike Chambers
November 21st, 2006, 04:33 PM
There is a way in DOS to set the console to an auxilliary device, usually COM1. For well behaved DOS applications, you can control the machine from another machine through the serial port. For not-well behaved apps (anything that touches the video buffer or keyboard hardware directly) it will not work.

For the more complicated (and less well behaved) apps you want to find an old version of 'Carbon Copy' or a similar screen scrapper type application.

I don't know of any that work over straight telnet.

thx for the quick reponse! i'll see if i can find carbon copy... also, you're right i forgot about the other method...

i think it's COMMAND >COM1
or whatever com you wanna use... i'll try that out. i think the programs i wanna run dont do any direct video access... pretty much just QB and programs i've written.

mbbrutman
November 21st, 2006, 04:41 PM
It is actually 'ctty'. My DOS 2.1 reference says the format is:

ctty <device>

Where device is a DOS device name. You can use con, aux, com1, etc. If you use a com port, be sure you use a mode command to set the com port up first.

QB programs might not work ... the programs have to use standard DOS interrupts to read and write to the console.

Terry Yager
November 21st, 2006, 04:45 PM
IIRC, ya gotta use the 'MODE.COM' prog, sum'n like:

mode con=com1

or perhaps:

mode con=aux (if aux is pointed to com1)

...which switches-out the control from the standard console (crt & kbd) to the serial port. It has been awhile tho, so you prolly should check the manual for the correct syntax.

--T