PDA

View Full Version : Triple D Int 286 motherboard - any info available?



Divad
June 30th, 2016, 09:48 AM
Has anyone got any information on a 286 motherboard made by Triple D International? Model appears to be a TD-32 or 34, with a CityGate D30 chipset and 286-10 CPU. Unusually, it has only 8-bit ISA slots, and some I/O on board (COM & ???)

(I don't own this board, but I'm considering buying it, just want some more info if possible. I can post a link to ebay item but not sure if it's against forum rules)

Thanks

David

SpidersWeb
June 30th, 2016, 11:38 AM
Not familiar with that model but if it only has 8 bit slots, it's likely an XT class system with a 286 CPU. Just something to keep in mind.

Chuck(G)
June 30th, 2016, 12:08 PM
Does it look anything like this? (http://www.arvutimuuseum.ee/th99/m/E-H/32252.htm)

Divad
June 30th, 2016, 01:04 PM
Bit of a curiosity, I've never seen a 286 board with only 8-bit slots before.


Does it look anything like this? (http://www.arvutimuuseum.ee/th99/m/E-H/32252.htm)

Looks pretty similar, some pictures below.

http://i1077.photobucket.com/albums/w480/f4nnyb4wz/xt_286_1_zpse8uvuhtd.jpg (http://s1077.photobucket.com/user/f4nnyb4wz/media/xt_286_1_zpse8uvuhtd.jpg.html)

http://i1077.photobucket.com/albums/w480/f4nnyb4wz/xt_286_2_zpsqmvlo8gy.jpg (http://s1077.photobucket.com/user/f4nnyb4wz/media/xt_286_2_zpsqmvlo8gy.jpg.html)

Chuck(G)
June 30th, 2016, 02:07 PM
On this Russian page (http://www.phantom.sannata.ru/forum/index.php?t=18071&a=do_print), it identifies the Hedaka 286 board mentioned above as having the CityGate D30 chipset. So, perhaps not identical, but close.

Your board is mentioned here (http://compgroups.net/comp.sys.ibm.pc.classic/vga-card-for-xt-isa/2722615), but little additional information.

A Czech web page has this on Triple D:


Axle Company is a manufacturer of graphics cards, NVIDIA , TV tuners and other expansion cards for PC. This company was in 1999 bought by Triple D International Limited, a trademark Axle has been maintained. Website this company can be found at: http://www.axle3d.com .

Divad
June 30th, 2016, 02:30 PM
Thanks Chuck, looks like that's probably the best info available.

It would still be a bit of a crapshoot finding a working RAM config for it as there's no RAM populated that I can see.

Chuck(G)
June 30th, 2016, 06:00 PM
True, but I'd be willing to bet that the 20-pin sockets are 256x4 DRAMs (e.g. MT4C4256) and the 16-pin ones are 41256s.

Divad
July 1st, 2016, 03:40 AM
Makes sense, so 8x 20-pin DIP sockets with 256x4 DRAMs should give me 1024K, with maybe the last 4x 16-pin DIPs for parity if required?

Stone
July 1st, 2016, 04:04 AM
What about the four 18 pin sockets that are interwoven with the 20 pin sockets?

Divad
July 1st, 2016, 05:05 AM
Could those be for a 512KB RAM option, maybe using 4x 1Mbx1 DIPs?

On closer inspection it looks like the 20-pin DIP sockets are labelled U17/25/18/26/20/27/21/28, the 18-pin sockets U1/2/4/5, and the 16-pin sockets U3/24/6/23.

So potentially you could make 2 banks of 4x 256x4 DRAM (giving a total of 1MB) using U17/18/20/21 as bank 1, and U25/26/27/28 as bank 2 (and possibly using U23/24 for parity, but that might need 256x2 DRAM chips).

Alternatively, 4x 1Mbx1 in U1/2/4/5 for 512K, and 4x 256x1 in U3/6/23/24 for an additional 128K for a 640K setup?

Of course all this depends on these being supported configurations, but the 1MB option seems to make the most sense (to me anyway)...

Stone
July 1st, 2016, 05:26 AM
Could those be for a 512KB RAM option, maybe using 4x 1Mbx1 DIPs?

Alternatively, 4x 1Mbx1 in U1/2/4/5 for 512K, and 4x 256x1 in U3/6/23/24 for an additional 128K for a 640K setup?That can't be.

8 x 1Mx1 is required, not 4 x 1Mx1. In order to use only 4 chips they would need to be 2-bit chips. Same goes for the 4 x 256Kx1. 4 x 256Kx1 ╪ 128K. :-)

Divad
July 1st, 2016, 06:03 AM
And I thought I had been very smart to have worked that out! Oh well.

Do you think using 8x 256x4 in 20-pin DIP format looks like it would work with this board though?

Stone
July 1st, 2016, 06:11 AM
Chuck said he thinks so and I wouldn't disagree. Also, you might want to take into consideration that the four 16 pin sockets could be for parity chips.

Divad
July 1st, 2016, 06:21 AM
Yeah, presumably using 41256s for the parity as Chuck mentioned, although I'll maybe just turn parity checking off if I can find the option for it. Thanks for all your help with this!

abandonware
July 7th, 2016, 06:18 AM
As SpidersWeb wrote, it looks like an XT with 286 microprocessor. Reminds me a Juko XT motherboard. https://th99.bl4ckb0x.de/m/A-B/32279.htm The motherboard has a battery, so it has RTC. It has 2 serial ports, one parallel port and floppy header on board. But it also has 8 dip switch, which is the way the XT motherboards are configured.