PDA

View Full Version : Commodore 64 1571



lindalee
August 14th, 2016, 10:01 AM
My father-in-law recently passed away and I agreed to bring all of his electronics home and evaluation to possible sell. You wouldn't believe how many chargers I have in a big pile, He had so many things (toys) and lots of laptops, tablets and notebooks...UGH. Anyway, I noticed that one of the things in the box was the gigantic power source for the Commodore 64 and the mouse....still in the box. So I started searching and suddenly there is was. Along with a matrix printer. I brought it home all excited to hook it up and see it work, but I don't have the guide so I don't even know if I have all the parts. Also, no floppies. I do have some games. If I could see how to connect everything I can determine whether to look for more "stuff".

How does this work?

phogren
August 14th, 2016, 02:53 PM
Where are you located? Can you take any pictures?

Dave Farquhar
August 15th, 2016, 02:46 PM
I've written a little bit about this in the past:

http://dfarq.homeip.net/how-to-connect-a-commodore-64-to-a-television/
http://dfarq.homeip.net/how-to-connect-commodore-disk-drives/

And a post that got me skewered but it answers the first question everyone asks after they get the machine up and running:
http://dfarq.homeip.net/load-commodore-64-games/

That should get you started. If you want to make sure you have all the cables and stuff before you start reading, you need an IEC serial cable to go between the drive and computer (it has 6 pins on both ends), a video cable of some sort (I talk about your options in the first link), and the 64's power brick.

If that's not enough to get you started, please let me know.

EagleTG
August 16th, 2016, 04:22 AM
you need an IEC serial cable to go between the drive and computer (it has 8 pins on both ends)

IEC is 6 pins. But I know you knew that. Just correcting it here to avoid potentially confusing the newbie. ;)

Awesome articles/posts by the way, bookmarked those for future use.

Dave Farquhar
August 16th, 2016, 04:34 AM
Thanks--I fixed it above. Got my wires crossed with the video port. And thanks for the compliments, and the bookmarks!