PDA

View Full Version : CP/M 2.2 strings and variable addresses

Mike_Z
October 21st, 2016, 09:13 AM
I'm still a little new to CPM 2.2 assembly language, but am learning a lot. I have a couple of house keeping questions regarding variables and strings.

1st, variables that are saved at a memory address, this works

DEST EQU 05000H
SOURCE EQU 05002H
ERROR EQU 05004H

but this fixes these address. I figure this is a better method.

Some CODE

DEST: DB 00H
DS 02H
SOURCE: DB 00H
DS 02H
ERROR DB 00H
DS 02H

MORE code

OR..... would this be even better?

Some CODE

DEST: DW 0000H
SOURCE: DW 0000H
ERROR DW 0000H

MORE code

Then does it matter where in the code these addresses are placed? I've been putting them all at the end of the code, but can they be placed withing the code?

2nd strings. I've been placing strings in the code like this

ER1: DB 'This is error 1 message',024H
ER2: DB 'This is error 2 message',024H
ER3: DB 'This is error 3 message',024H

I know that this works, but is there a better way?

I appreciate the help. Mike

Chuck(G)
October 21st, 2016, 09:26 AM
All will probably work, but there's a matter of making readable code. Please allow me to elucidate...

If something will be accessed as a word, it's best to use "DW" to define it. Examples of words are 16-bit integers, address pointers, etc. That is, both bytes are inexorably related and treated as 16-bit quantities. It's unfortunate that ASM only has "DS" to reserve uninitialized storage, so you have no idea what's really intended. 8086 assembler clears this up by using the notation of (?) and DUP to indicate exactly what the eventual datatype is; e.g.,
WORDBUF DW 16 DUP (?) ; define a 16 word buffer
--but that's not available with ASM.