PDA

View Full Version : Cp/m 2.2 submit

Mike_Z
February 3rd, 2017, 07:45 AM
Now that my CP/M 2.2 disk drives are back in service and working fine, I have started to do some programming again. Since I'm still rather new at CP/M I thought I'd experiment a little. I was reading about SUBMIT and XSUB. So I thought I'd try SUBMIT. I wrote a simple TEST.SUB that only contained the command DIR. Then at the A> I entered SUBMIT TEST The A drive did some blinking then a warm boot occurred without the DIR command being executed. I figured that maybe my SUBMIT program was corrupt. I found another copy and tried that, but the same results. I was wondering if I have the CP/M 2.2 SUBMIT? Maybe I was using CP/M 3.0? How would I tell whether or not I have the correct SUBMIT program.? Does it make a difference? Or am I doing something else wrong? Thanks for the help, --- Mike

Mike_Z
February 3rd, 2017, 08:57 AM
Well.... I figured it out. I had thought that I only had DIR in the TEST.SUB file, but I actually had a couple of carriage returns after the DIR, instead of just one. Don't know why this caused the failure, but it did. After removing the extra CR's. The Submit worked fine. Next I want to test ERA *.* --- this will need a used response to the delete all question. I suspect that the XSUB will be needed for that? Mike

Mike_Z
February 3rd, 2017, 09:46 AM
Say.... this works pretty neat! Here is my TEST.SUB

XSUB
PIP B:=A:PIP.COM[V]
STAT B:*.*
ERA B:*.*
Y
STAT B:*.*

Then I ran SUMBIT TEST --- this is what happened. The A drive did some work, probably created the $$$.SUB file, then warm booted

A>XSUB
Xsub Already Present
A>PIP B:=A:PIP.COM[V]

When PIP completed another warm boot occurred

A>STAT B:*.*
Recs Bytes Ext Acc
58 8k 1 R/W B:PIP.COM
Bytes remaining on B: 233K

A>ERA B:*.*
ALL (Y/N)?Y

A>STAT B:*.*

File not found

A>