PDA

View Full Version : Writing a driver for CP/M 3

JonB
March 2nd, 2017, 10:15 AM
Hi

I need to write an IDE device driver for CP/M 3 ("plus"). I'm quite new to this, so what are my options?

Patch the BIOS like I did for CP/M 2.2?
Write a runtime loadable driver? RSX or some such..
Some other way?

A little background.

It's for the Amstrad CPC6128 CP/M implementation. The newer versions support FID files ("field installable driver") and I successfully wrote one for the Amstrad PCW machine. However it doesn't seem to work on the CPC6128's CP/M Plus, and that is after changing the code to be CPC compatible. The FID is just not being loaded at startup.

Any pointers would be great!

Thanks
JonB

Yes, I'm off to read the CP/M 3 alteration guide next, before someone says "RTFM". :)

geoffm3
March 2nd, 2017, 10:37 AM
Interesting. Did any other implementations of CP/M BIOS have this scheme? I have been toying with the idea of writing my own CP/M 3.0+ BIOS for the Coleco ADAM and that would likely solve several problems as there's a variety of different add-on hardware for serial/parallel ports and whatnot.

JonB
March 2nd, 2017, 11:02 AM
What scheme, the FID files? No, they were Amstrad only. CP/M 3 has relocatable system extensions loaded at boot time called RSX files. Similar but not the same as FIDS.

Pepinno
March 2nd, 2017, 12:47 PM
Hi

I need to write an IDE device driver for CP/M 3 ("plus").
(...)
It's for the Amstrad CPC6128 CP/M implementation.

How are you attaching the IDE disk to the CPC6128 computer?

JonB
March 2nd, 2017, 10:18 PM
Using uIDE-16:

http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/UIDE_Universal_IDE_adapter_cards_for_Z-80_computers

For example: http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/amstrad-cpc-hardware/cpc-ide-adapter-anyone/?action=dlattach;attach=21967;image

But you can fit it internally using a Z80 shim card, like this:

http://www.cpcwiki.eu/forum/nc100-nc200-pcw-pda600/who-wants-ide-drives-on-the-pcw/?action=dlattach;attach=21819;image