PDA

View Full Version : IBM PS/2 Model 30 (8086)



Alkenstof
March 4th, 2017, 03:36 PM
Hey people, i got a IBM PS/2 Model 30 with a 720k disk drive... only problem is that it stopped working a while ago, and after a lot of fiddling around with disks, and cleaning, the best i could get it to do is say something like "disk boot error".
any ideas, i would use the hard drive, but that was dead when i found it at the side of the road, and i can't figure out the name of the interface, or if there is any kind of ssd adapter for it... anyway, do you guys got any ideas on my problem?
and if it's unreperable, is anybody selling a replacement (preferably 1.44M(if it works with the older model 30)) for sale?

g4ugm
March 5th, 2017, 12:51 AM
PS/2 Model 30 (8086) will only accept 720K diskette drives. The PS/2 Service Manual

http://ps-2.kev009.com/ohlandl/books/ps2-hmm.pdf

implies there is a converter cable for normal floppies. I suspect that these convert "normal" floppies with separate power to PS/2 style floppies with power on the board to PS/2 style floppies with power on and drive density info the 34-way.

I also found this:-

https://ps1stuff.wordpress.com/how-tos/ibm-ps1-model-2011-floppy-replacement/

on replacing the floppy on a PS1 which I suspect is similar, and this

https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=46462

on re-capping a drive .....

Stone
March 5th, 2017, 02:14 AM
...and after a lot of fiddling around with disks, and cleaning, the best i could get it to do is say something like "disk boot error"....Did that include cleaning the heads with a cleaning disk?

Alkenstof
March 5th, 2017, 07:10 AM
I used some q-tips and alcohol

Alkenstof
March 5th, 2017, 07:15 AM
on re-capping a drive .....

Do you think it's the caps?
I guess it could be worth a shot.
And that drive looks similar to mine.

Alkenstof
March 5th, 2017, 09:51 AM
HEy, thanks everybody for the help, it was the caps, i did a ghetto job when replaceing them, bucause all of my de-soldering pumps broke...
but hey it works now, thanks everbody! :D

Alkenstof
March 5th, 2017, 10:50 AM
Nevermind... Its the heads now. They got misaligned or something, because its not reading disks now :(

gigabajcior
March 5th, 2017, 10:55 AM
Do you think it's the caps?
I guess it could be worth a shot.

In my case re-capping has a 100% "factor of success" :)
I had 3 dead drives and all are fully operational now.

BR

Artur

Alkenstof
March 5th, 2017, 02:26 PM
In my case re-capping has a 100% "factor of success" :)
I had 3 dead drives and all are fully operational now.

BR

Artur

it worked, until the heads messed up :(
is there a way to fix that, the thin peice of metal was bent, and i also can't get it back togher... Whops...

pcdata76
March 5th, 2017, 11:22 PM
In my case re-capping has a 100% "factor of success" :)
I had 3 dead drives and all are fully operational now.

BR

Artur

What was the brands of the drives? I've tried recapping on two ALPS branded 720k drives with no success.

@Alkenstof
You can check the alignment using Imagedisk software. If you lifted upper head too far during the cleaning then alignment of that head could be shifted.

Btw, 1.44MB PS/2 drives are also working in 720k supported Model 30's, but at 720k mode obviously. Generic floppy drives could be hacked to work in PS/2's as well, check thread: http://www.vcfed.org/forum/showthread.php?50816-Again-a-faulty-PS-2-floppy-drive&highlight=

evildragon
March 6th, 2017, 12:02 AM
There is a 1.44MB model drive that DOES work in the Model 25, and does format, write, and read 1.44MB disks without error, and I'm sure this drive will also work in a model 30. Both 8086 model machines.

I've had to prove this many many times despite the reference manual saying it shouldn't work, but it DOES work. IBM Museum sold me the drive several years ago, and indeed, it DID work, and still does! If you need me to get the model number of the drive, I'll be happy to do so. It does require a different ribbon cable as it doesn't use a card edge connector, but uses a pin header.

Stone
March 6th, 2017, 03:20 AM
Did that include cleaning the heads with a cleaning disk?


I used some q-tips and alcohol


HEy, thanks everybody for the help, it was the caps, i did a ghetto job when replaceing them, bucause all of my de-soldering pumps broke...
but hey it works now, thanks everbody! :D


Nevermind... Its the heads now. They got misaligned or something, because its not reading disks now :(This is why I only use the cleaning disks. They are the correct tool for the job. In over 25 years of routinely cleaning floppy drive heads that have become fouled I have not had even one instance of this procedure not working properly or as expected. Of course this also means no peripheral damage either, e.g., head misalignment.

I cannot overstate this:

Everybody who works with these machines should have a disk cleaning kit.

Alkenstof
March 6th, 2017, 12:06 PM
at this point, i really just want to know if i can get the drive back togeher, and then i will see about getting another, or something.
also, do they make/made parallel port floppy drives, and would that be able to boot into dos from disk? this old drive is really becoming a pain, and i just want to be able to use the computer.

Alkenstof
March 6th, 2017, 12:11 PM
if i could use a external, could i use a zip drive?
those are a lot cheaper then the $50 ones on ebay.
unless somebody can give me a good price on a replacement, like the later ps/2 ones that seem "modable"

Alkenstof
March 6th, 2017, 02:58 PM
There is a 1.44MB model drive that DOES work in the Model 25, and does format, write, and read 1.44MB disks without error, and I'm sure this drive will also work in a model 30. Both 8086 model machines.

I've had to prove this many many times despite the reference manual saying it shouldn't work, but it DOES work. IBM Museum sold me the drive several years ago, and indeed, it DID work, and still does! If you need me to get the model number of the drive, I'll be happy to do so. It does require a different ribbon cable as it doesn't use a card edge connector, but uses a pin header.


Looking at pictures, it seems possible.... Were can i get one, and do they make converter cables for it?
also, if they just combine the 5 and 12v into the one connector, could i use a cheap 3 1/2" drive?

Alkenstof
March 6th, 2017, 04:56 PM
https://www.google.ca/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&ved=0ahUKEwjiqMvNpMPSAhVq2IMKHbqBB8YQjRwIBw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.minuszerodegrees.net%2Fmanual s.htm&psig=AFQjCNH8LiUg03H8_Igaq0OxJgMy1gLwCw&ust=1488938038905570

Saw this, and thought if i mod a regular drive to the slightley more normal ibm ps1/ later ps2's, it could be possable to convert it to work on my system....
now were can i find one,/ what is the pinnout for the old edge connector so i can make one...

evildragon
March 7th, 2017, 11:14 AM
You can't use a zip drive, it's an entirely different beast, and also have IDE interfaces usually (sometimes SCSI).

As for using a regular PC floppy drive, I honestly have never done it. It might be possible, but I've never done it, and I am not sure of anyone here on this board who has either. It would be tricky having a face plate though for it, and the eject buttons surely won't attach likely.

pcdata76
March 7th, 2017, 08:40 PM
https://www.google.ca/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&ved=0ahUKEwjiqMvNpMPSAhVq2IMKHbqBB8YQjRwIBw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.minuszerodegrees.net%2Fmanual s.htm&psig=AFQjCNH8LiUg03H8_Igaq0OxJgMy1gLwCw&ust=1488938038905570

Saw this, and thought if i mod a regular drive to the slightley more normal ibm ps1/ later ps2's, it could be possable to convert it to work on my system....
now were can i find one,/ what is the pinnout for the old edge connector so i can make one...

I've successfully modded a regular floppy drive already for my model 30 and 60, see thread: http://www.vcfed.org/forum/showthread.php?50816-Again-a-faulty-PS-2-floppy-drive&highlight= It is relatively an easy mod and you dont have to bother with the pinout of edge connector.

If you have a small button (thin) drive then you can mount a regular drive directly(of course after removing its own bezel) to the plastic holder base of the original with no (or very small) need of trim work on the bezel. But if you have a big button (thick) drive then you have to obtain a bezel and mounting base of the small drive to fit the generic drive physically into computer.

gigabajcior
March 8th, 2017, 12:59 PM
What was the brands of the drives?

Two from IBM P70, I am not sure the brand photo here... (https://www.dropbox.com/s/zkvh203leoy1a60/2016-07-28%2018.24.32.jpg?dl=0)
and one from A600, made by Teac.

BR

Artur