PDA

View Full Version : IBM Parity Memory Card 128Kb Not working

lutiana
March 9th, 2017, 06:14 PM
It just stopped working. So I am wondering how best to go about fixing it? I am thinking some or all of the chips maybe bad, they look to be Oki M3764-15RS (8Kbyte each) so does anyone have a modern equivalent that could work?

Also, I have a whole bunch of mixed 32kByte (M5M4256P, W41256PP-15 and TMM41256AP-10) chips, would they work on this card (making it 512Kb total), or am I stuck to only using the 8Kbyte chips?

Stone
March 9th, 2017, 06:30 PM
Are they really 8K each? Or are they actually 64K x 1 bit?

It's unlikely that all the chips are bad.

lutiana
March 9th, 2017, 06:35 PM
Are they really 8K each? Or are they actually 64K x 1 bit?

It's unlikely that all the chips are bad.

Does it matter? I have no idea as I have zero experience IDing chips like this, which is why I posted the number on the chip. And yes, I realize it's probably only one or two in either bank that't the probkem, but whichever one is bad it causing the whole card to not be counted in the RAM count.

Stone
March 9th, 2017, 06:45 PM
They're 64K x 1 bit.

It's a tedious process but replacing each chip, one by one, with a known good chip will ferret out the bad one(s).

It's better if you have a bank of good chips to swap but it can be done with just one or two (or three) good chips, depending on how many chips are actually bad.

lutiana
March 9th, 2017, 06:54 PM
They're 64K x 1 bit.

It's a tedious process but replacing each chip, one by one, with a known good chip will ferret out the bad one(s).

It's better if you have a bank of good chips to swap but it can be done with just one or two (or three) good chips, depending on how many chips are actually bad.

Yes, I am aware of that process, I did it with the 5170 board I have. But what I need to know is where can I get some known good chips? And if I can put bigger chips in the thing and get some memory beyond 640kb.

Chuck(G)