PDA

View Full Version : Extracting files off “unknown” 8 inch disks. Any thoughts…

tezza
March 22nd, 2017, 02:46 PM
Hi

I’d be grateful for any guidance or comments anyone could give me on this problem.

Guys in the building next door to me (a Science lab) have found some 8 inch floppy disks. They want to see what’s on them, or at least to archive them. They have no idea what machine these disks were used with, or the software was used to write the files. They may be CP/M, or some other format entirely.

I’ve got little experience with 8 inch drives or disk formats. However I have got a bare 8 inch floppy drive (a Mitsubishi M2896-63 Half Height 8inch DSDD), and also a CP/M computer with 8 inch drives (A Panasonic JD-850M). I’m thinking it might be an interesting challenge/project to see if I can read these disks and get files off.

However, I imagine given all the unknowns it won’t be easy…perhaps even impossible.

I see two possible approaches. One is to wire up the 8 inch drive to an MS-DOS machine. I’ll have to build/get a PSU for the drive so it can supply the necessary 24 Volts required. I’ll also have to make up a special drive cable. That info is available. In fact, Chuck gave me some tips a year or so ago. However, once I’ve got the drive successfully wired up, I then need to somehow analysis the disks to see what format they are in. Does anyone know of any software that will do this? I’m aware of disk22, for reading KNOWN CP/M formats but is there anything out there that will analyse a disk from scratch? Search the web has thrown up a few possibilies (MMCPC, Cpmtools) but I haven’t explored them at all.