PDA

View Full Version : 4055 201 and a blinking cursor



fjk61011
March 28th, 2017, 08:29 AM
ON a PC 5150 I get this error4055 201 and a blinking cursor after a successful POST beep. Having trouble chasing it down. Can anyone enlighten me?

keenerb
March 28th, 2017, 09:01 AM
ON a PC 5150 I get this error4055 201 and a blinking cursor after a successful POST beep. Having trouble chasing it down. Can anyone enlighten me?

I believe that's a memory error.

The 4055 should tell you which chip has failed.

keenerb
March 28th, 2017, 09:13 AM
I believe that's a memory error.

The 4055 should tell you which chip has failed.

37364

Looks like it is likely this chip. I think you can try to set the DIP switches so that only the minimum memory is used, and that might let you skip the error (but only run with 16/64kb).

You can also possibly remove and re-insert that one memory chip to see if it fixes the problem.

fjk61011
March 28th, 2017, 09:42 AM
37364

Looks like it is likely this chip. I think you can try to set the DIP switches so that only the minimum memory is used, and that might let you skip the error (but only run with 16/64kb).

You can also possibly remove and re-insert that one memory chip to see if it fixes the problem.

I set for one bank and no error.

Was also having "DISK BOOT FAILURE". Found a Diagnostic floppy and it seems to be reading and writing but the surface scan is taking a long time. It's a st-225

Stone
March 28th, 2017, 09:46 AM
I believe that's a memory error.

The 4055 should tell you which chip has failed.


37364

Looks like it is likely this chip. I think you can try to set the DIP switches so that only the minimum memory is used, and that might let you skip the error (but only run with 16/64kb).

You can also possibly remove and re-insert that one memory chip to see if it fixes the problem.I don't agree.

I think the problem is the switches are incorrectly set.

fjk61011
March 28th, 2017, 09:58 AM
I don't agree.

I think the problem is the switches are incorrectly set.

I'll check the dip switches after dinner. Would you happen to know about how long the scan test should take on the st-225?

Stone
March 28th, 2017, 10:11 AM
Was also having "DISK BOOT FAILURE". Found a Diagnostic floppy and it seems to be reading and writing but the surface scan is taking a long time. It's a st-225


Would you happen to know about how long the scan test should take on the st-225?'Found a Diagnostic floppy' is about as vague as it gets. There's no way to 'guess' what you're doing or what you are using.

fjk61011
March 28th, 2017, 10:41 AM
'Found a Diagnostic floppy' is about as vague as it gets. There's no way to 'guess' what you're doing or what you are using.

I'll check later, have to go out now. Thanks for your help so far. I've also found the minuszerodegrees site.

fjk61011
March 28th, 2017, 01:16 PM
It's the IBM Diagnostics 2.02

It shows the Hard Drive

The read test and write test seem to pass. The surface scan goes on for a long time.

Still getting the Disk drive failure message.

fjk61011
March 29th, 2017, 05:00 AM
I set the memory switches to one bank and 64k. Getting a parity error. sometimes it boots to ibm basic.

fjk61011
March 29th, 2017, 06:11 AM
Okey Dokey, I cheated and swapped in a new board. I then got a disk drive error on the floppy full height Tandon. Swapped in a different Tandon. Success. I'm running n IBM Diagnostic 2.02. detects the st-225. Read, Write and track one passes. It's now surface scanning the st-255.

I don't know how long a surface scan should take.