PDA

View Full Version : How many watts does an ST-225 use?



fjk61011
April 7th, 2017, 03:07 AM
How many watts does an ST-225 use?

And will two work in an 8088?


Francis

kylix
April 7th, 2017, 03:27 AM
You can find that information here:
ftp://ftp.seagate.com/techsuppt/mfm/st225.txt


POWER REQUIREMENTS: +12V START-UP (amps) _2.4
+12V TYPICAL (amps) __0.9
+5V TYPICAL (amps) ___0.8
TYPICAL (watts) ______14.8
MAXIMUM (watts) ______33

But what do you mean with "8088"? It depends on the power supply unit.

fjk61011
April 7th, 2017, 03:39 AM
200 W. Was thinking more of two controller cards in a 5150.

Stone
April 7th, 2017, 04:41 AM
You only need one card for two drives.

fjk61011
April 7th, 2017, 04:52 AM
You only need one card for two drives.

So I'd need a cable with two sockets?

Stone
April 7th, 2017, 04:58 AM
You'd need three cables. One control cable and two data cables.

fjk61011
April 7th, 2017, 05:02 AM
You'd need three cables. One control cable and two data cables.

I'll have a look at current set up later. Not near PC at the moment.

Scali
April 7th, 2017, 05:48 AM
A standard 5150 PSU is only 63W, and isn't really enough for a HDD from that period. The ST-225 came standard with some 5160s, for which they boosted the PSU from 63W to 130W if I'm not mistaken.
200W is very big for an 8088 machine, and would be no problem.

fjk61011
April 7th, 2017, 05:53 AM
A standard 5150 PSU is only 63W, and isn't really enough for a HDD from that period. The ST-225 came standard with some 5160s, for which they boosted the PSU from 63W to 130W if I'm not mistaken.
200W is very big for an 8088 machine, and would be no problem.

I tried the new ST-225 and get a 1701 error. I'm researching this. Other ST-225 works.

modem7
April 7th, 2017, 02:06 PM
And will two work in an 8088?

You'd need three cables. One control cable and two data cables.
Diagram at [here (http://minuszerodegrees.net/5160/misc/5160_hard_drive_cabling_double.jpg)]. Be sure to read all text in the diagram.


I tried the new ST-225 and get a 1701 error. I'm researching this. Other ST-225 works.
The 1701 error is generated by your XT-class hard disk controller, to indicate a general problem.
The 1701 has many possible causes.
Have you tried low-level formatting the drive (followed by partitioning then high-level format) ?

fjk61011
April 7th, 2017, 02:13 PM
Diagram at [here (http://minuszerodegrees.net/5160/misc/5160_hard_drive_cabling_double.jpg)]. Be sure to read all text in the diagram.


The 1701 error is generated by your XT-class hard disk controller, to indicate a general problem.
The 1701 has many possible causes.
Have you tried low-level formatting the drive (followed by partitioning then high-level format) ?

Tried LLF. Got an error 80

archeocomp
April 7th, 2017, 10:49 PM
If you are trying the drives separately with the same settings and one works and the other not, than you probably have one bad drive. Are both drives set/jumpered identically? Do they both have terminator installed?

fjk61011
April 8th, 2017, 02:42 AM
If you are trying the drives separately with the same settings and one works and the other not, than you probably have one bad drive. Are both drives set/jumpered identically? Do they both have terminator installed?

Yup, same settings. Swapped one out, the other in. No joy with the newer drive.