PDA

View Full Version : Recommendation for the higest DOS to run on a 5150 with an XT-IDE card.



fjk61011
April 23rd, 2017, 08:31 AM
Looking for a recommendation for the higest DOS to run on a 5150 with an XT-IDE card, also a ST-225 available.

Xacalite
April 23rd, 2017, 08:50 AM
3.30 is great for 8088 machines, but doesn't support partitions larger than 32 MB
4.x is problematic, avoid if you're not into experimenting
5.0 is a bit too modern for 8088, its most interesting features require 286/386, but you need it for large HDDs

So, install 3.30 on your ST-225, install 5.0 on your IDE HDD, and use XT-IDE BIOS to select which one you want to boot.

fjk61011
April 23rd, 2017, 08:59 AM
3.30 is great for 8088 machines, but doesn't support partitions larger than 32 MB
4.x is problematic, avoid if you're not into experimenting
5.0 is a bit too modern for 8088, its most interesting features require 286/386, but you need it for large HDDs

So, install 3.30 on your ST-225, install 5.0 on your IDE HDD, and use XT-IDE BIOS to select which one you want to boot.

Okily dokily.

evildragon
April 23rd, 2017, 09:03 AM
I'm using DR-DOS 6 and find it very very useful, good performance and loads of features.

Malc
April 23rd, 2017, 09:15 AM
I use DOS 6.22 on my 5150, I just have the files i need / want in the DOS folder, Have about a dozen or so files in there.

Stone
April 23rd, 2017, 09:16 AM
I generally use 6.22 on almost everything (unless I have a specific reason to use something earlier) but sometimes use 7.x on 32-bit machines.

glitch
April 23rd, 2017, 10:08 AM
3.30 here for most things. I believe one of my XT-IDEs is set up with Compaq DOS 3.31 which has large disk support like DOS 4.x but lacks the other DOS 4.x issues. Mostly I use 64 and 128 MB DOMs with XT-IDEs, so DOS 3.30's partition size limit isn't much of an issue.

Chuck(G)
April 23rd, 2017, 10:11 AM
Compaq DOS 3.31 gets you bigger partitions and 3.30 features. PC DOS 4.01 with all of the CSDs applied isn't bad either.

Xacalite
April 23rd, 2017, 11:52 AM
Oh yes, 3.31 has partition size limit of 512 MB, enough for small IDE HDDs or DOMs.

And it's not Compaq-only, I've recently found a copy of MS-DOS 3.31 which looks generic, without any OEM identification. Haven't tested it much yet, but it works and can see a 40 MB partition.
Edit: it probably isn't actually generic, there are additional tools for some specific hardware, obviously added for/by some OEM, but still, no OEM identification. Can't be sure what it actually is, I don't have the original diskette(s).

Stone
April 23rd, 2017, 12:53 PM
...it probably isn't actually generic, there are additional tools for some specific hardware, obviously added for/by some OEM, but still, no OEM identification. Can't be sure what it actually is, I don't have the original diskette(s).Sometimes if you take a peek inside COMMAND.COM it will reveal itself.

bhtooefr
April 23rd, 2017, 04:59 PM
I'm personally running PC DOS 5.02 (due to its position as the newest patch set of the oldest well-liked major IBM release of DOS to support FAT16B), with selected utilities (really, I think it's just DELTREE) from MS-DOS 6.22 on my 5155. If I had a smaller drive, I'd consider running 3.30 instead, although most of my serious exposure to DOS was with MS-DOS 5.00a and MS-DOS 6.22, so I'd lose a lot of the creature comforts I'm used to with 3.30. (PC DOS 5.02 is also, AFAIK, the last release before IBM started diverging from Microsoft's codebase, with PC DOS 6.10.)

That said, PC DOS 7.00 and 2000 are the two lightest releases of DOS in the 4.x+ era, AFAIK: http://www.vcfed.org/forum/showthread.php?29636-Favorite-version-of-x86-DOS&p=215078#post215078 So, they're worth considering, if you're going to run something newer than 3.30 (or maybe MS-DOS 3.31).

Xacalite
April 23rd, 2017, 06:16 PM
Sometimes if you take a peek inside COMMAND.COM it will reveal itself.
I did, and found nothing.
I even did INT 21h with AX=3000h, it returns OEM number in BH, in this case it's FFh ie. Microsoft.

Quote from http://www.os2museum.com/wp/dos/dos-1-0-and-1-1/ :
"There was no retail MS-DOS until 5.0. Starting with MS-DOS 3.2, there was a “Packaged Product” MS-DOS available which was a generic MS-DOS box with floppies and documentation, but it was not sold to end users, only to “system builders”."

So I guess that "generic" MS-DOS 3.31 must be one of those "Packaged Products", sold to some small OEM which couldn't afford custom branded version.

dieymir
April 24th, 2017, 12:10 AM
I vote for MS-DOS 3.31. AFAIK there was no "packaged" MS-DOS 3.31 but M$ offered it to some OEMs to counterfeit DRI. Those OEMs wanted to offer a DOS version capable of >32MB partitions in ROM and DOS 4.0 wasn't ROMable at that time so they went to DRI until M$ offered them MS-DOS 3.31

yuhong
April 24th, 2017, 12:12 AM
I vote for MS-DOS 3.31. AFAIK there was no "packaged" MS-DOS 3.31 but M$ offered it to some OEMs to counterfeit DRI. Those OEMs wanted to offer a DOS version capable of >32MB partitions in ROM and DOS 4.0 wasn't ROMable at that time so they went to DRI until M$ offered them MS-DOS 3.31

AFAIK Compaq DOS 3.31 predates DR-DOS.

fjk61011
April 24th, 2017, 04:51 AM
3.30 is great for 8088 machines, but doesn't support partitions larger than 32 MB
4.x is problematic, avoid if you're not into experimenting
5.0 is a bit too modern for 8088, its most interesting features require 286/386, but you need it for large HDDs

So, install 3.30 on your ST-225, install 5.0 on your IDE HDD, and use XT-IDE BIOS to select which one you want to boot.

My next question was if there is a facility to boot off either disk. I'm waiting on the XT-IDE card to arrive.

I have a ST-225 and a copy of PC DOS 3.30 which I'll try on that disk.

Malc
April 24th, 2017, 05:12 AM
If you have somewhere to home the XUB like a boot rom socket of a nic and able to burn an eprom you could use that until you get your XT-IDE card.

fjk61011
April 24th, 2017, 06:03 AM
If you have somewhere to home the XUB like a boot rom socket of a nic and able to burn an eprom you could use that until you get your XT-IDE card.

Card just arrived. I have to find out if the DOM I'm going to use needs the 5V pin.