PDA

View Full Version : D-LINK DE-100TP REV-D1 NIC. Completely flummoxed.



fjk61011
May 9th, 2017, 07:36 AM
D-LINK DE-100TP REV-D1 NIC. Completely flummoxed.

I have the above card and am at a loss how to set up the Packet Driver in DOS.

http://arvutimuuseum.ee/th99/n/C-D/40184.htm

Any pointers welcome.


Francis

mbbrutman
May 9th, 2017, 07:51 AM
It would help if you would describe what the problem is, and what you have tried to do.

fjk61011
May 9th, 2017, 08:23 AM
It would help if you would describe what the problem is, and what you have tried to do.

It would, wouldn't it. :)

I've set the IRQ to 3 (default)

Boot Rom to Disabled

DMA to Disabled

I/O Base address to 300h

I used te100.exe from the test directory which gives an I/O error.

EDIT: The card is in a 5150 with an xt-ide lotech card.

fjk61011
May 9th, 2017, 08:54 AM
Directories when DE100.exe is expanded.

38341

I'm guessing that the packet driver is in PCTCP.

EDIT:

Well that isn't a great image is it?

Xacalite
May 9th, 2017, 08:58 AM
Many 8-bit Ethernet adapters are compatible with NE1000, so try NE1000.COM driver - http://www.crynwr.com/drivers/pktd11.zip

fjk61011
May 9th, 2017, 09:11 AM
Many 8-bit Ethernet adapters are compatible with NE1000, so try NE1000.COM driver - http://www.crynwr.com/drivers/pktd11.zip


I'll try that as soon as I solve the I/O address issue

fjk61011
May 9th, 2017, 10:04 AM
The NE1000 loads but says the I/O address is 300h no mater what the jumpers on the card are. Do I need parameters when I load NE1000.com?

Chuck(G)
May 9th, 2017, 10:16 AM
Yes. The statement should look something like:

NE1000 <software int> <IRQ of card> <IO address of card>

So, if you're using 0x60 as the software interrupt and your card is set for IRQ 5 and it's at 0x310, you'd code;

NE1000 0x60 5 0x310

This is before PNP, so you have to tell the driver everything, if you're not using the defaults.

fjk61011
May 9th, 2017, 11:24 AM
Yes. The statement should look something like:

NE1000 <software int> <IRQ of card> <IO address of card>

So, if you're using 0x60 as the software interrupt and your card is set for IRQ 5 and it's at 0x310, you'd code;

NE1000 0x60 5 0x310

This is before PNP, so you have to tell the driver everything, if you're not using the defaults.

I've run ne1000 0x60 3 0x100 but the system hangs after that.

mbbrutman
May 9th, 2017, 11:45 AM
If you have the original software for the card, why not use them? Not every card is an NE1000 clone, so unless you know this is an NE1000 clone the NE1000 packet driver is not going to work.

You did post a directory listing earlier, right? So I'm assuming that means you have the drivers for the card?

Xacalite
May 9th, 2017, 11:59 AM
I/O Base address to 300h

I've run ne1000 0x60 3 0x100 but the system hangs after that.
So, where exactly is your NIC? 300h, or 100h ?
Also, 300h might be a problem, looks like it's the default address for "Lo-tech 8-bit IDE Adapter rev.3", if that's what you have.
Try setting the NIC to some address other than 300h

fjk61011
May 9th, 2017, 12:02 PM
If you have the original software for the card, why not use them? Not every card is an NE1000 clone, so unless you know this is an NE1000 clone the NE1000 packet driver is not going to work.

You did post a directory listing earlier, right? So I'm assuming that means you have the drivers for the card?

With the NE1000 driver I've gotten as far as your FTP server but I cant connect via Filezilla from my Win 10 PC

gslick
May 9th, 2017, 12:07 PM
Maybe he has the same drivers that are available here?

Test:
ftp://ftp.d-link.co.za/d-linkftp/products/NIC/de100/Driver/uncompressed/TEST/
ftp://ftp.d-link.co.za/d-linkftp/products/NIC/de100/Driver/uncompressed/TEST/README.DOC

Packet driver:
ftp://ftp.d-link.co.za/d-linkftp/products/NIC/de100/Driver/uncompressed/PCTCP/
ftp://ftp.d-link.co.za/d-linkftp/products/NIC/de100/Driver/uncompressed/PCTCP/README.DOC

Xacalite
May 9th, 2017, 12:08 PM
And yes, try also de100pd.com, parameters look the same, eg.:
de100pd 0x60 3 0x300

fjk61011
May 9th, 2017, 12:43 PM
So, where exactly is your NIC? 300h, or 100h ?
Also, 300h might be a problem, looks like it's the default address for "Lo-tech 8-bit IDE Adapter rev.3", if that's what you have.
Try setting the NIC to some address other than 300h

Jumpers at IRQ 5 and I/O 320h.

Set those as parameters

fjk61011
May 9th, 2017, 12:46 PM
And yes, try also de100pd.com, parameters look the same, eg.:
de100pd 0x60 3 0x300

I tried the de100PD with parameters but get a parameter error message

Xacalite
May 9th, 2017, 01:01 PM
I tried the de100PD with parameters but get a parameter error message
Uhm, it doesn't support hexadecimal? Try this:

de100pd 96 5 0x320

or even:

de100pd 96 5 800

fjk61011
May 9th, 2017, 01:02 PM
This is the README for the DE100PD driver.


July 1992

FTP PC/TCP Installation
for
D-Link 8-Bit DE-100 series Ethernet Card
=========================================


The following files will be used in this installation:

Files Contents
----------- ---------------------------------
DE100PD.SYS DE-100 series Driver Program
DE100PD.COM DE-100 series Driver Program


The D-Link packet driver programs above let you run FTP's PC/TCP
with the D-Link DE-100 series Ethernet Card. Two methods can be used:

METHOD 1:

If you use the DE100PD.SYS program, the following statement must
be included in your CONFIG.SYS file:

DEVICE = DE100PD.SYS <packet_int_no> <int_level> <io_addr>

This statement may be placed anywhere in the CONFIG.SYS file.

METHOD 2:

If you use the DE100PD.COM program, follow the procedure below:

1. Execute the DE100PD.COM as follows:

>DE100PD <-d> <packet_int_no> <int_level> <io_addr>

2. Execute the ETHDRV.EXE device driver program (provided by
FTP).

You are now ready to use FTP's PC/TCP.

Notes:

<packet_int_no> is the software interrupt vector number used by the packet
driver program, which can be from 96 to 128.
<int_level> is the hardware interrupt (IRQ) line set on your network
interface card. The default is 3 if this parameter is not
specified.
<io_addr> is base I/O address set on your network interface card.
The default address of 0x300 is used, if this parameter
is not specified.
<-d> Delay Initial - The driver program will not initialize
the network interface card until the packet driver program
is accessed by its upper layer program first time.



I don't have an ETHDVR file so I tried the config.sys method but keep getting a parameter error message

fjk61011
May 9th, 2017, 01:19 PM
Uhm, it doesn't support hexadecimal? Try this:

de100pd 96 5 0x320

or even:

de100pd 96 5 800

Whoop!

Tried "de100pd 96 5 800" in config.sys. Re-booted and got no error message. Used mTCP and SNTP and the 5150 connected to the time server.


Success.

fjk61011
May 9th, 2017, 01:30 PM
I've now run the FTP server programme and connected to FileZilla on my Win 10.

Xacalite
May 9th, 2017, 01:38 PM
Good, but ETHDRV.EXE is only needed for PC/TCP, not for mTCP.
So it shouldn't matter if you load de100pd.sys in config.sys, or de100pd.com in autoexec.bat/command prompt.
Well, *.sys drivers occupy slightly less RAM than *.com/*.exe TSRs.

fjk61011
May 9th, 2017, 01:38 PM
The readme is confusing as it uses both decimal and hex for the parameters.

fjk61011
May 9th, 2017, 01:40 PM
Good, but ETHDRV.EXE is only needed for PC/TCP, not for mTCP.
So it shouldn't matter if you load de100pd.sys in config.sys, or de100pd.com in autoexec.bat/command prompt.
Well, *.sys drivers occupy slightly less RAM than *.com/*.exe TSRs.

Okily dokily. I'll try the de100pd.com in a batch file tomorrow.

fjk61011
May 10th, 2017, 03:07 AM
I've never seen so many jumpers on a card before.

fjk61011
May 10th, 2017, 06:52 AM
Okily dokily. I'll try the de100pd.com in a batch file tomorrow.

The system hangs using de100pd.com

fjk61011
May 31st, 2017, 03:36 AM
UPDATE:

I have one D-Link card in a 5150. Using de100pd.com hangs the system with a divide overflow error, so I put de100pd.sys in the CONFIG.SYS. This works.

There is a XT-IDE_CF OPTIMA in the 5150. The one with only one capacitor on it.

I set the NIC to 96 5 800.

All works well.

Using 96 3 800 in the second 5150 works also.

AgentOrange96
July 24th, 2018, 02:30 PM
Hello,
I have a D-Link DE-100TP+ card which I'm attempting to use with my XT. This seems to be the only information I can find about this card, unfortunately I am having issues.

I too am using the XT-IDE adapter by Lo-Tech, so I too have set my DE-100TP+ to 320h. I am having slightly different results.

1. When I run TE100PL.EXE I get an I/O error, similar to fjk61011
2. When I run DE100PD.COM 96 3 800, I receive no errors. It appears to have worked, but then nothing seems to see a loaded packet driver. (Including NTCPDRV.EXE which I attempted to use in place of ETHDRV.EXE.)
3. When I run DE100PD.SYS 96 3 800 in CONFIG.SYS, the system displays a ☺ character, and hangs.

I have also tried with an IRQ of 5, which should be fine since I don't have a hard drive controller connected. I've set all jumpers correctly too. (I don't have DMA jumpers)
My card looks different from the one listed at http://arvutimuuseum.ee/th99/n/C-D/40184.htm (Maybe it's because it's the + version?)
46936

The D-Link and DE-100TP+ text had been covered up by a white label with "ETHER-8TP+" written on it in black lettering. I found the D-Link information underneath. If it's important, I'm running PC-DOS 6.2. If anyone has any input into this I'd be happy to hear!

fjk61011
July 25th, 2018, 06:17 AM
Hello,
I have a D-Link DE-100TP+ card which I'm attempting to use with my XT. This seems to be the only information I can find about this card, unfortunately I am having issues.

I too am using the XT-IDE adapter by Lo-Tech, so I too have set my DE-100TP+ to 320h. I am having slightly different results.

1. When I run TE100PL.EXE I get an I/O error, similar to fjk61011
2. When I run DE100PD.COM 96 3 800, I receive no errors. It appears to have worked, but then nothing seems to see a loaded packet driver. (Including NTCPDRV.EXE which I attempted to use in place of ETHDRV.EXE.)
3. When I run DE100PD.SYS 96 3 800 in CONFIG.SYS, the system displays a ☺ character, and hangs.

I have also tried with an IRQ of 5, which should be fine since I don't have a hard drive controller connected. I've set all jumpers correctly too. (I don't have DMA jumpers)
My card looks different from the one listed at http://arvutimuuseum.ee/th99/n/C-D/40184.htm (Maybe it's because it's the + version?)
46936

The D-Link and DE-100TP+ text had been covered up by a white label with "ETHER-8TP+" written on it in black lettering. I found the D-Link information underneath. If it's important, I'm running PC-DOS 6.2. If anyone has any input into this I'd be happy to hear!

I'll have a look later what I did

fjk61011
August 16th, 2018, 10:47 AM
I set the NIC to 96 5 512 all decimal

set jumpers to 5 and 200h.


ran de100.com

it connects to the internet

fjk61011
August 18th, 2018, 10:33 PM
Hello,
I have a D-Link DE-100TP+ card which I'm attempting to use with my XT. This seems to be the only information I can find about this card, unfortunately I am having issues.

I too am using the XT-IDE adapter by Lo-Tech, so I too have set my DE-100TP+ to 320h. I am having slightly different results.

1. When I run TE100PL.EXE I get an I/O error, similar to fjk61011
2. When I run DE100PD.COM 96 3 800, I receive no errors. It appears to have worked, but then nothing seems to see a loaded packet driver. (Including NTCPDRV.EXE which I attempted to use in place of ETHDRV.EXE.)
3. When I run DE100PD.SYS 96 3 800 in CONFIG.SYS, the system displays a ☺ character, and hangs.

I have also tried with an IRQ of 5, which should be fine since I don't have a hard drive controller connected. I've set all jumpers correctly too. (I don't have DMA jumpers)
My card looks different from the one listed at http://arvutimuuseum.ee/th99/n/C-D/40184.htm (Maybe it's because it's the + version?)
46936

The D-Link and DE-100TP+ text had been covered up by a white label with "ETHER-8TP+" written on it in black lettering. I found the D-Link information underneath. If it's important, I'm running PC-DOS 6.2. If anyone has any input into this I'd be happy to hear!

You might haven,t enough memory. Try removing some drivers

AgentOrange96
December 31st, 2018, 12:00 PM
You might haven,t enough memory. Try removing some drivers

First I'd like to thank you for the information. I've been away at school until recently, so I apologize for the lack of a reply until now. I have some questions per your response:

1. For an I/O address of 200h, I'd set the jumper JP6 (1 2 3 4 5) to ON OFF OFF OFF OFF, correct? JP6, for the IRQ, is set to 5.
2. Do I need anything in my config.sys? If I put the line "DE100PD.SYS 96 5 512" I still get the ☺ character with a system hang. If I do not, but just run "DE100PD.COM 96 5 512" after booting, programs still say a packet driver isn't loaded. Of course, if I'm wrong for #1, then this may explain it too.

Thank you very much again. I really do appreciate it!

AgentOrange96
March 10th, 2019, 07:20 PM
You might haven,t enough memory. Try removing some drivers

Hey, I'm home for break for this week, which gives me time to work on the PC. I'm wondering if you have any answers to my previous comment. Even unloading everything else I am still unable to connect. I'd definitely like to set it up as close to how you had it as possible. Thank you very much!