PDA

View Full Version : What do I have and how do I use it?

BishopRealTalk
May 10th, 2017, 03:58 PM
Hey all, I'm not really sure this is the correct section but I'm brand new to the world of computers as anything more than a consumer. After watching a popular YouTube channel I became interested in vintage computers. Fortunately my place of employment had several laying around. I had been wanting and old Dos machine so I picked one, hooked up a glorious orange monochrome monitor and fired it up. To my surprise, Everything seems to work I ran all the diagnostics and nothing failed. It has a Seagate ST-225 hard disc. After configuring Everything, it comes up with a couple of errors. It shows a CMOS CHECKSUM failure. I have no idea what that means but I think it has to do with a battery. It's asking for a boot/system disc. I assume this is asking for the Dos installation discs? If so, where can I buy or get a set? As a bonus a found a brand new in box Word Perfect today. If anyone is wondering, it appears to be an old IMB machine but the BIOS is from a local computer company. It does also have expansion memory. I apologise for asking a bunch of newb stuff but I am literally just learning. 3835238353

kgober
May 11th, 2017, 10:59 AM
It looks like you have a basic AT clone. The case looks like an IBM AT case, but you have TEAC floppy drives rather than the ones IBM used so it's probably not a real IBM PC AT.

To get rid of the CMOS checksum error you will need a Setup & Diagnostics diskette. It will have some kind of setup utility on it that you can use to set your system options (most importantly, that's how you get it to recognize your hard disk so that you can boot from it). Alternatively, you may be able to find a copy of the utility available by itself (usually called something like "SETUP.COM" or "SETUP.EXE") which you can put onto a bootable DOS diskette.