PDA

View Full Version : Altair Basic ver. 1



Marty
May 11th, 2017, 06:48 PM
Hi All;

I don't remember who pointed out the Link for Altair Basic Version 1, But, I want to Thank that person for the link.. I have been looking for it for many, many years..

I am copying it into one of my Notebooks, and I have up to page 002 copied.. It has a little more than 011 pages..

Once I have the whole thing done, I can compare it to what I have for Version 3.2 4K and Extended Basic, which will help me with the Disassembly of it..

The Listing I have for the Extended version of Altair Basic comes with a lot of notes, so it will be much help..

If I remember correctly, the last one I did like this was Altair Disk Basic, (I don't remember which Version), when I was sick and had plenty of time..

THANK YOU Marty

Marty
June 1st, 2017, 01:15 PM
Hi All;

I got (after some small troubles) and conferring with Mike and changing to an Solid State Music IO-4 Board, set up to look like an 88-IO Board,

ALTAIR BASIC Version 1.0 to RUN !!

I can now understand the kind of feeling that Paul Allen and Ed Roberts had when they first got it to Run.. All that to add 2+2 and actually get the correct Answer..

I also have the whole thing copied into two NoteBooks..

Just for the fun of it I tried different Memory Size numbers and 65,536 gives a Syntax error, along with 32,768, but 16,384 passed along with 8192..

I guess they couldn't Imagine anyone having more than 16K of Memory in a Machine..

THANK YOU Marty

glitch
June 1st, 2017, 03:23 PM
Does it autosize past 16K correctly?

Marty
June 1st, 2017, 04:08 PM
Hi All;

Glitch, Thank You, for Your Question..

There is NO Autosizing in this version, but in later Versions..

I have Not tried it past 16K, in small Increments..

This is about 6K in size, which would later be reduced to the 4K we know later..

THANK YOU Marty

deramp5113
June 2nd, 2017, 06:34 AM
Just for the fun of it I tried different Memory Size numbers and 65,536 gives a Syntax error, along with 32,768, but 16,384 passed along with 8192..

My guess is that 32767 will work (largest 16 bit positive integer) as a memory size specification in version 1.0. Even in 4K and 8K BASIC 3.2, you couldn't peek or poke with a positive integer larger than 32767. If you wanted to poke into 65535, for example, you had to specify -1. Later versions of Altair BASIC allowed positive integers > 32767 for peek and poke. I'm not sure if the same applied to memory size specification in BASIC 3.2 (for example) or not since I always let it auto-size memory.

Mike

Marty
June 2nd, 2017, 07:09 AM
Hi All;

When I tried 32767 it gave me a syntax error, but that could have been my bad..

Please try it in Your's and Let us know what You get, in comparison to what I got..

THANK YOU Marty

deramp5113
June 3rd, 2017, 10:27 AM
Interestingly, the startup dialog accepts values up to 32759. 32760 and up give an error. Would have expected 32767 to be the maximum allowed value.

Mike

Marty
June 3rd, 2017, 11:09 AM
Hi All;

Thank You Mike, for Testing what I had been seeing and confirming what I got..

That would be an Interesting Problem to see that it's cause is and what the fix was in Later Versions..

THANK YOU Marty

Dwight Elvey
June 3rd, 2017, 12:52 PM
Try negative numbers.
Dwight