PDA

View Full Version : compaq portable 3.5 floppy support?

laos101
May 16th, 2017, 11:08 AM
Hi,

This might be a stupid question as I'm a novice in the VC world. Is it possible to connect a 3.5-inch floppy drive to a 34 pin floppy controller on a compaq portable (8088)? Would the BIOS recognize it OOB or would I need some sort of modification?

I'm trying to get DOS up and running on the one I own which only has two 5.25 floppy drives and I have no easy way to write the 5.25 floppies from any of my modern or early 2000s equipment.

I do have a XT-CF-IDE in the mail, but I also want to have DOS or a compaq setup disk as a backup if at all possible...

Feel free to point me in the right direction if there's an easier way of doing all this!

rvdbijl
May 17th, 2017, 06:54 PM
Hi,

This might be a stupid question as I'm a novice in the VC world. Is it possible to connect a 3.5-inch floppy drive to a 34 pin floppy controller on a compaq portable (8088)? Would the BIOS recognize it OOB or would I need some sort of modification?

I'm trying to get DOS up and running on the one I own which only has two 5.25 floppy drives and I have no easy way to write the 5.25 floppies from any of my modern or early 2000s equipment.

I do have a XT-CF-IDE in the mail, but I also want to have DOS or a compaq setup disk as a backup if at all possible...

Feel free to point me in the right direction if there's an easier way of doing all this!

I may not have a whole lot to offer on your original question, but I do remember a long time ago trying to get a 3.5" drive (non-HD) to run on an XT and I think I did manage to get that running.. Fdread or a similar tool comes to mind. Somehow you have to trick the adapter into thinking the drive has 80 tracks, not 40. 720Kb is still 2 sided and 9 sectors/track, so technically the controller should be able to handle it.