PDA

View Full Version : Boot from a Backpack parallel port floppy drive in a 5150?



fjk61011
May 27th, 2017, 03:56 AM
Is there a way to boot from a Backpack parallel port floppy drive in a 5150?

krebizfan
May 27th, 2017, 04:13 AM
No. What are you trying to do?

fjk61011
May 27th, 2017, 05:42 AM
No. What are you trying to do?

Trying to intall DOS 6.22.

Stone
May 27th, 2017, 05:56 AM
Boot from an internal floppy.

SYS the HD.

Then copy the rest of the 6.22 files from the Backpack.

fjk61011
May 27th, 2017, 06:09 AM
Boot from an internal floppy.

SYS the HD.

Then copy the rest of the 6.22 files from the Backpack.

Internal floppy only 360kb.

On a 5150.

krebizfan
May 27th, 2017, 06:43 AM
I think that you can install off a non-bootable drive. That is how the CD install worked. Make a 360kB DOS 6.22 bootable disk with Backpack support or install a 720kB A: drive (temporarily) and make up a similar boot floppy. Boot off the floppy, switch to the Backpack drive and run the SETUP from the there.

Why are you planning on using DOS 6.22 with a 5150? Most of the benefits require a 286 or better. The 5150 is a bit slow to run the disk compression software.

Great Hierophant
May 27th, 2017, 07:51 AM
Large drive support probably.

Stone
May 27th, 2017, 08:29 AM
Internal floppy only 360kb.So use a 360K 6.22 bootable floppy! :-)

Do you need me to send you one?

fjk61011
May 27th, 2017, 10:41 AM
So use a 360K 6.22 bootable floppy! :-)

Do you need me to send you one?

Yes please. My DOS 3.30 is damaged. I have a 1GB DOM

Chuck(G)
May 27th, 2017, 10:54 AM
To go a bit more on-topic--yes, it would certainly be possible to implement a ROM BIOS based extension of the Backpack floppy drive such that booting would be possible. It might even be possible to do a "double boot", where the top 1K or so of memory could be used as a temporary BIOS service to the Backpack--so you'd boot a short program from primary floppy and then boot from the Backpack.

But how many of these drives are out there that would make that a viable proposition?

Stone
May 27th, 2017, 12:01 PM
Yes please. My DOS 3.30 is damaged. I have a 1GB DOMHere's a link to an image (https://www.dropbox.com/s/tec59151mbyloli/622_360K.zip?dl=0).

fjk61011
May 27th, 2017, 12:16 PM
Here's a link to an image (https://www.dropbox.com/s/tec59151mbyloli/622_360K.zip?dl=0).


Thanks for the image. I'm not at my pc so I'll download it later.

fjk61011
May 27th, 2017, 02:23 PM
Here's a link to an image (https://www.dropbox.com/s/tec59151mbyloli/622_360K.zip?dl=0).

OK, got the image. thanks