PDA

View Full Version : 3M DS DD RH Disks in a 5150?

TazBird
July 30th, 2017, 07:15 AM
Hello,

I recently picked up some 3M DS,DD,RH for my model B 5150 - I formatted the first one, and it made an awful grinding noise - after a while it completed the format with about 160K of bad sectors, I figured that was a bad disk. I tired to format the next disk and it didn't make the grinding noise but when it completed it was only 160kb. I didn't want to try any others with out asking if anyone else encountered something like this. I put a picture of the disk below if it makes a difference.

The drives seem to be working fine with other floppies - is it possible I just have a bad lot of disks?

I've never worked with this particular media before, I otherwise have DS,DD disks and never have any issues with those.

Thanks everyone!

modem7
August 3rd, 2017, 12:44 AM
The drives seem to be working fine with other floppies
I notice that you used the word, "seem". If the "other floppies" format without error and you can then write/read across the surfaces, then you should consider the floppies to be good. To be sure, you could use the floppy read/write test found in some diagnostic software.

- is it possible I just have a bad lot of disks?
Yes, possible.

Note that when I come across a box of 'significantly deteriorated' floppies (and I have lots of sealed boxes), sometimes the floppies have left behind a thick coat of oxide on the drive's heads, and then I have to spend some time cleaning the heads before the drive becomes useable again.

I put a picture of the disk below if it makes a difference.
I have one of that exact same media. It formats to 360K in my late model 5150 without problem.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
SSDD drive: Early DOS formats to 160K (one side of 8 sectors per track)
SSDD drive: Later DOS formats to 180K (one side of 9 sectors per track)

DSDD drive: Early DOS formats to 320K (two sides of 8 sectors per track)