PDA

View Full Version : picked up an IBM 5162 XT-286



DaveJustDave
August 10th, 2017, 08:13 PM
So i totally forgot about these machines!

How rare do you think they are? personally i think they are more rare than any 5150/5160/5170 as i've never seen one of these for sale before.

It needs a few things (like a PSU recap) but otherwise i got it to boot ok. it's also missing a hard drive.

Does anyone know whats the correct hard drive and period specific black bezel 3.5" floppy for this machine?

40247

T-R-A
August 11th, 2017, 03:20 PM
...personally i think they are more rare than any 5150/5160/5170 as i've never seen one of these for sale before.

Likely, since they were the shortest-lived of the 51xx series of IBM PC's:

http://minuszerodegrees.net/misc/ibm_51xx_timeline.jpg

vwestlife
August 11th, 2017, 03:38 PM
and period specific black bezel 3.5" floppy for this machine?

IBM did have a 3.5" 720K floppy drive for the XT and XT-286, with a black 5.25" bezel and blue button, but good luck finding one now. It's a lot easier just to use a standard black 3.5" 1.44 MB floppy drive together with a mounting frame, like this: http://r.ebay.com/puNMm6

Old_hitech
August 13th, 2017, 06:07 AM
My XT286 have a bad 720k 3.5 drive and a intermittent 5.25 drive. I have yet to figure out how to remove the tray that holds both of these drives. I have read some instructions on how to do this, but would appreciate some pictures. If I remember correctly, during my last try it seemed that something on the bottom of the tray was holding onto to the tray and I could not get a good view of the problem. Appreciate any tips/pics on this. Thanks.

DaveJustDave
August 14th, 2017, 01:58 AM
the tray has a screw you get to from the bottom of the case. there should be a 1.5" hole. once thats unbolted, the tray with the drives come up out of the case. keep in mind, it does NOT come out of the front. you have to push it in and lift it out of the case.

framer
August 14th, 2017, 07:47 AM
The 5.25 in drive was a YE DATA YD-380 with a black bezel. It took awhile to locate a good one. I went with a standard black faced 3.5 inch 1.44 drive with adapter which I had to modify to use the IBM 5160 bezel with. You also need the original mounting plates for a two HH drive setup. I'm still looking for the original 3.5 drive that went with the 5162, tough finding.

The original HD controller was the Western Digital WD1003-WA and the IBM WD25 20 MB MFM HD. That HD is also hard to find, bought two non working ones before getting one that worked. Many st-225 can be gotten cheap and work fine.

framer

Stone
August 14th, 2017, 08:05 AM
The original HD controller was the Western Digital WD1003-WAI don't think there was a controller with that ID.

WD1003-WA2 or,

WD1003A-WA2 or,

WD1003-WAH

are valid, though.

Trixter
August 14th, 2017, 08:40 PM
How rare do you think they are?

They are among the rarest of the ISA BUS IBMs. The only units from that timeframe that as rare, or more rare, than the 5162 are likely:

The 5161 expansion box+extender card+cable
The very first IBM PC (ie. Rev A, 16-64k motherboard, BIOS ROMS with a date of 04/24/81)
The IBM PC 3270 (essentially a PC with a 3720 emulator card and appropriate keyboard)


IBM did have a 3.5" 720K floppy drive for the XT and XT-286, with a black 5.25" bezel and blue button

I can confirm this; I obtained mine from a Boca Raton IBM employee in the 1990s and it came with a 1.2MB drive as A: and a 720KB drive as B:, and the 720KB drive has a blue button.

per
August 15th, 2017, 04:40 AM
What's the serial number? It's usually in the form of 5162-1xxxxxx. Mine is 004725, but I've seen one with a number up towards 030000.

XT-286 is faster than a stndard 6MHz 5170, but still not quite as fast as the 8MHz model. Another nifty thing is that the Powersupply autodetects if it's being run on 230V or 120V (unlike almost all other PC PSUs).

Trixter
August 15th, 2017, 07:56 PM
If you mean the barcode on the back of the unit, mine reads 5162-1085683. If you mean something on the motherboard, let me know and I'll open it up (although I'd rather not, I've got it embedded in a capture rig right now).