PDA

View Full Version : PCI video card doesn't want to work?



ScanDisk
August 29th, 2017, 07:48 PM
The Acer Acros has finally been fixed, and it works now.

It works as long as I use the onboard video that is.

When I install my ATI Mach 64 PCI video card, nothing shows up on screen and the monitor is always on stand by. It doesn't matter wheter the vga cable is plugged into the onboard vga port or into the video card, even - still nothing on screen.

I suspect the computer needs to be told to use the video card instead of the onboard video, I checked in the BIOS, and there seems to not be a way to do it.

I'm lost here.


This is a Pentium 75mhz system, with 24mb of RAM which I have running MS-DOS 6.22 and Windows 3.1, seems period appropriate since the powersupply has a date code of 9451 (im guessing that's 1994), and the original cd-drom drive said APR 1995.

https://scontent-lga3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/21151550_10210420849621728_183602246739384624_n.jp g?oh=44ea7d4851c6fb836cc1286713d1ff79&oe=5A1B8983

krebizfan
August 29th, 2017, 08:16 PM
Check the motherboard of the Acros. Most of the models with built-in video had a jumper that would disable video making it possible for a card to work.

As an example, see http://www.uktsupport.co.uk/acer/mb/acv12lc.htm May not be the right one but it is an Acros from 1994 which supports Pentium 75. Other pages on that site show other Acer motherboards.

If turning off the jumper does not make the video card work, download a Mach 64 manual and change to fixed IO. This will prevent it from failing if the Acros does not have plug-and-play working.
http://www.vgamuseum.info/index.php/companies/itemlist/category/9-ati-technologies-inc and then select the correct model of Mach 64.

zombienerd
August 29th, 2017, 08:17 PM
Probably a jumper. Take off the case, get the model number, and check here:

http://www.uktsupport.co.uk/acer/mb/acermb.htm

Most of the Acros boards are there. Many of them have a jumper to disable the onboard video.

EDIT - krebizfan beat me by about 20 seconds :)

ScanDisk
August 29th, 2017, 08:57 PM
It's this one:

http://www.uktsupport.co.uk/acer/mb/acv12lc.htm


I did set the jumpers like it says, but still nothing comes on screen.

EDIT: Taking a closer look at the card itself, it does say ATI Mach64 on the big chip in the centere, however, the card has a sticker that says KAKEI on it, and it says made in china on the card as well.

It also looks nothing like any of the Mach 64's ATI shows on that webpage. This is leading me to believe it's a cheap Chinese rip-off.

I'm going to use the onboard video for now, already found the Windows 3.1 Drivers for it anyways.

zombienerd
August 30th, 2017, 06:30 AM
I had the same issue with my Packard Bell 300SX with trying to get an ISA video card working. Even if I set the motherboard to disable internal VGA, the card wouldn't work properly.

I'd get video - sometimes - but it was all jacked up. It was a BIOS incompatibility somehow. I even made it to Windows once.. Man, did it look weird. I probably have a video capture of it somewhere.

I'd try a few other cards. I find that the Geforce line (256 to MX4 era) work well in Pentium 1 boards usually. I use an MX2 200 in both my socket 7 systems. One is PCI one is AGP.

PeterNC
August 30th, 2017, 10:34 AM
Same with my Magnavox 386SX16: plugged in a 16BIT Video Seven VGA ISA: no luck. It counts RAM with output from the ISA VGA but that is it. Had to disable MOBO VGA with onboard switch. VGA worked fine on my AST Advantage! 9313.