PDA

View Full Version : PC 5170: Attain Tetanus



MrArgent
September 9th, 2017, 10:02 PM
So, I've snagged myself a PC/AT at VCFest Midwest earlier! One meg RAM, and two floppy drives which are presumably too grungy to read (and basic cleaning has failed unless my 3.5" diskettes are just bad) - a 720k(?) 3.5" and a 1.2mb 5.25". The RTC has seemingly been replaced by the previous owner and resides on a velcro mount on the back. It boots to basic, but it's in sad shape (http://68.media.tumblr.com/1ff12293c5a6c923fc6dfeb8a14683dd/tumblr_ow1u4nmUKV1s65jcko1_1280.jpg)- The case is just covered in rust. Fortunately, it sounds like rust is pretty easy to remove with 3'n'one and some tinfoil! A quick before bed test run has started to show results. (http://68.media.tumblr.com/0ca4dd40611d244333928e5ba3487112/tumblr_ow1uzdTxHK1s65jcko1_1280.jpg)

Any restoration pointers i should be aware of? Snafus? I have a hardcard 40 ready for it when i get it open...I can't find my flathead. It's been prefitted with a VGA card, which is convenient as i have no EGA monitors.

Chuck(G)
September 9th, 2017, 10:12 PM
As long as it isn't full of mouse poop, roaches and spiders, you're probably okay.

Stone
September 10th, 2017, 03:30 AM
... and two floppy drives which are presumably too grungy to read (and basic cleaning has failed unless my 3.5" diskettes are just bad) - a 720k(?) 3.5" and a 1.2mb 5.25"...Depending on what basic cleaning consists of you should definitely try using a cleaning disk with cleaning solution. There is no better method for reviving dirty, fouled floppy heads.

MrArgent
September 10th, 2017, 02:44 PM
Depending on what basic cleaning consists of you should definitely try using a cleaning disk with cleaning solution. There is no better method for reviving dirty, fouled floppy heads.

Yup. In this context it refers to a cleaning diskette (with plain isopropyl instead of the included solution since i ran out of that a ways ago), followed by some poking around with a isopropyl-coated q-tip.

bobba84
September 10th, 2017, 02:54 PM
Check out my thread from a few years ago here (http://www.vcfed.org/forum/showthread.php?43880-I-obtained-a-very-sad-5170&highlight=)

While getting it back to it's former glory required a replacement motherboard, I'm sure you will find some useful tips along the way :)

Bobby.

MrArgent
September 10th, 2017, 03:07 PM
Check out my thread from a few years ago here (http://www.vcfed.org/forum/showthread.php?43880-I-obtained-a-very-sad-5170&highlight=)

While getting it back to it's former glory required a replacement motherboard, I'm sure you will find some useful tips along the way :)

Bobby.

Thanks for the link, Bobby! Glad to see yours got to a point where it passes muster eventually. The grunge on this one appears to be purely cosmetic, so i'm holding out hope that I don't need a replacement mainboard!

I just checked out the innards, and they're... virtually pristine (https://photos.app.goo.gl/Uqa03I0XaO9y13hi2)! It turns out that there's a hard disk too, but i have no idea what shape it's in or if it boots. The system just booting to BASIC isn't promising, though.

bobba84
September 10th, 2017, 04:49 PM
Cool!

If the CMOS setup isn't done, it won't know about a HDD to boot from. Check out modem7's great site here (http://www.minuszerodegrees.net/5170/setup/5170_setup.htm) to get it set up!

It looks like a Seagate drive. It should have a model number, like ST-225 or similar. Let us know the model and we'll tell you which drive type in CMOS setup it is :)

Bobby.

MrArgent
September 10th, 2017, 08:39 PM
Type 3 was written on it - seems like it was dead and so was my HardCard 40, though. Luckily I've got a Boca IDE Plus from a older restoration that it turns out i didn't need then - would i be safe just slotting that in with a 32mb DOM? I think the AT doesn't need specialized bootroms or anything, but i'm not sure...

Some good news, though: Swapping out the FDD got it to boot off diskettes (though the 5.25" is still gummed up)...and it turns out my AT can work with 1.44" drives fine (https://68.media.tumblr.com/a3b1dfe03edfc6457d9289320345e460/tumblr_ow3l9kGCVN1s65jcko1_1280.jpg)!

CMOS settings were correct and, in fact, the clock was only even off from correct by a matter of days. It looked as if the battery was recently changed, too; they aren't usually mounted on the rear of the case so far as i can tell.

bobba84
September 10th, 2017, 08:58 PM
Awesome!! Glad it's going well for you.

I'm pretty sure it will work fine with the IDE, but I don't think the stock BIOS has custom drive types so you have 3 options:
1. Find a drive with a standard AT drive type
2. Find a drive type that works with your drive (whether or not it uses all the space available)
3. Change the BIOS for an aftermarket one

Bobby.

MrArgent
September 11th, 2017, 10:22 PM
So, I'm working on rust removal and i accidentally took some paint off the topmost part of the case (where the monitor rust rungs were on the first pics). It's not a huge issue, since it was looking like i'd need to repaint anyways if i wanted 'er like new. Anyone have any advice on what color i'd be looking for and what type of paint to use? thanks!

modem7
September 13th, 2017, 12:59 AM
Anyone have any advice on what color i'd be looking for and what type of paint to use? thanks!
Although not about the 5170, the thread at [here (http://www.vcfed.org/forum/showthread.php?47127)] may assist.

MrArgent
September 15th, 2017, 05:43 PM
So, I got the DOM...and they sent me 128mb instead of 32mb. That's the least of my problems, though - when i try to start the system with it and the IDE controller installed, it acts like the CMOS is flat and won't boot, just dumping me at BASIC! Hmmh...

When I take it out, the system configuration is back doing it's thing without a complaint. Bizarre.