PDA

View Full Version : IBM 5153 monitor on 120 or 240V?



romanon
September 15th, 2017, 09:28 AM
Hi, i have working 5153 monitor, I am from Europe, so we have 240V here. I checked rear label of monitor and I was surprised.

40768

How it can work?
Ok i read the manual and there was


The display unit has its own power control and indicator
and will accept either 120-volt 60-Hz or 220-volt 50-Hz power.
The power supply in the display automatically switches to match
the applied power.

So why is there 120V or 240V marking if its work with both voltages?

Stone
September 15th, 2017, 10:30 AM
Have you tried the monitor in the 240V outlet?

Did it work?

If you haven't tried this yet -- DON'T.

Are you sure the manual you have is the one that originally came with that particular monitor?

krebizfan
September 15th, 2017, 10:42 AM
That is in the 5153 manual. IBM purchased a lot of power supplies that would automatically handle various voltages. I guess overpaying on power supplies was cheaper than maintaining a second line of inventory. Slapping the sticker on the back was probably just IBM's way to reduce the amount of grey market shipments.

Malc
September 15th, 2017, 10:54 AM
As Stone said if you haven't tried it on 240V yet - Don't, The model 5153 and 5153001 were 120V only, The 5153002 is 100 - 250V as is the 5153003 i believe.

If you have already tried it and it works then the PSU has probably been modified to work on 240V or completely replaced, Or you have a European model that has had the back case replaced from a US model.

romanon
September 15th, 2017, 10:59 AM
That monitor works totally normally and fine on 240V

paul
September 16th, 2017, 01:01 PM
For the best long term reliability of your 5153 I would advise that you minimise the use on 230VAC, even though it's probably OK with that voltage. Otherwise use a stepdown transformer or change out the PS (see thread.)

Based on my investigation it's clear to me that the PS was intended to work on worldwide voltages but a unit marked 120VAC may not be fully equipped to do so. There are at least two revisions and you probably have the second one otherwise it would have cooked itself by now.

http://www.vcfed.org/forum/showthread.php?54613-IBM-5153-(CGA-monitor)-line-voltage-range&highlight=


Nice website, by the way!

romanon
September 17th, 2017, 03:58 AM
Thanks! I consider to buy 230/110V transformer.

BTW. The monitor have little blury image, it cant be nexus between that image and that voltage? (sorry for english)

paul
September 17th, 2017, 12:38 PM
No connection between blurriness and line voltage because the output of the PS is regulated. Focus is adjustable internally, at the HV flyback transformer.

Stone
September 17th, 2017, 01:14 PM
No connection between blurriness and line voltage because the output of the PS is regulated. Focus is adjustable internally, at the HV flyback transformer.And therein lies the problem. Focus issues are often the symptom of needed flyback surgery.