PDA

View Full Version : Hard Card



mike2340
January 16th, 2007, 06:19 AM
Does anyone know where I might purchase a Hard Card for my Tandy 1000. The 40 Meg I have now will not boot , and the computer isn't seeing the H/D.

Thanks Mike:(

modem7
January 17th, 2007, 01:03 PM
Those old Hardcards seem to be prone to 'stiction'.
If that's what the cause is, the card can usually be repaired by giving it a 'tap'.

Read this earlier thread:
http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/showthread.php?t=3603

dongfeng
January 17th, 2007, 01:12 PM
I managed to fix my 20MB hardcard by giving it a tap or two :)

mike2340
January 20th, 2007, 08:07 PM
Thanks guys. I been tappng and didn't work.
Found part of the problem though. Someone before
had done some rewiring on the power supply. Bad connection. Got that fixed
but still can't access H/D. Any thoughts. Been so long since I used DOS I have just about forgotten all that I learned...

Thanks Again

Mike H.

modem7
January 20th, 2007, 08:27 PM
When you say, "computer isn't seeing the H/D", what are the symptoms?

"Someone before had done some rewiring on the power supply" sounds nasty. I bet that in a Tandy 1000 fitted with a Hard Card, the Hard Card would be the only thing using the +12 volts, i.e. the motherboard can fire up on just the +5 volts alone. Just verify that there's +12 volts on the I/O connector.

Can you test the Hard Card in another machine?

mike2340
January 21st, 2007, 01:13 PM
Modem7,
Yes it is getting 12 volts now.They had just spliced a drive connector onto the power out cable I guess to add another drive. I just removed the plug and retaped the bare wired. I have been trying to get something from floppy to run on it but so far have had no luck. I have a hard drive utility called Part243/244. The only thing I can get to run is a file called presizer and that gives me an error. The error is {ERROR 1 Disk read verfication failed .Offending disk 0x80} I really think the drive is dead. Does this ring any bells. I can't put in another machine as it is 8 bit and I have nothing under 16.

Thanks
Mike H

Terry Yager
January 21st, 2007, 02:07 PM
You should be able to install an 8-bit card into a 16-bit slot, as long as there is no 'skirt' on the card to physically interfere.
Have you tried low-level formatting it with debug?
I have recently had a problem with the hard card in my Sanyo 775, but the card and drive are standard parts attached to a special frame, so with a little swapping, I did manage to get it working again with a different drive. Your rig may be similar, so swapping the card or drive might do the trick (a lot easier than trying to find an entire working card sized for the T1K).

--T

modem7
January 22nd, 2007, 01:26 AM
Are the platter/s even turning? I'm not experienced with Hard Cards, but if the platter/s are turning, I'd expect to hear some noise and/or be able to feel vibration if I put my fingers on the drive.
Maybe someone else will confirm that a working Hard Card produces noise/vibration.

If the platter/s aren't turning, stiction could still be the cause, i.e. your drive has a bad case and may you need to thump the drive rather than tapping it. Obviously that's not going to do your drive any good, and so it's a last resort option.

chuckcmagee
January 22nd, 2007, 06:22 AM
Chuckle, of course a working hard card makes noise. All kinds of noise. Drive spin up sounds, clack clack clack as access arm bounces around, etc.

carlsson
January 22nd, 2007, 07:38 AM
On the other hand, it may both make noises and spin, but not work anyway. If it makes too much unpleasant, shrill noises, my experience is that is not a good sign.

DimensionDude
January 22nd, 2007, 12:56 PM
It may be worth mentioning that the Tandy 1000 series used a non-standard IRQ for the hard drives.

I remember buying a 32MB hard card for my 1000TX many years ago. Paid over $300 and still thought I got a great deal!

Kent

mike2340
January 22nd, 2007, 01:22 PM
Thanks for all the help guys. I have a question about debug Modem7. What switch do I use for the low level format. I tried every one of them and didn't get anywhere. I really think the h/d is passed its use. The prices for a replacement aren't too bad They are out there but you will have to pay for it.
One site says they have new ones????

Again Thanks
Mike H.:-(

chuckcmagee
January 22nd, 2007, 02:34 PM
let's see

Debug
-gc800:5


Like that, if I remember right.

the - is the debug prompt.

Terry Yager
January 22nd, 2007, 04:00 PM
What kind of drive & controller does it have? It's not a PLUS+ HardCard is it?

--T

mike2340
January 22nd, 2007, 09:05 PM
Well I'm making progress I guess. I can run fdisk but it want let me create a dos partition. Says no room. Also the debug command gives me what looks like machine language code.
AA=FF03 BX=0000 CX=000 etc.I have used a old program called Spinrite and brings up a error of (critical disk controller error)???????
Terry,The hard card is a miniscribe 8438 31 meg. Cheapest I could find was 170.00.

Mike H.

dongfeng
January 23rd, 2007, 02:35 AM
here is a 40MB hard card on eBay:

http://search.ebay.co.uk/260077787227

dongfeng
January 23rd, 2007, 02:37 AM
I think the Western Digital FileCard in my Amstrad also has a MiniScribe 8438 :)

chuckcmagee
January 23rd, 2007, 06:16 AM
Yep, the vendors just *love* us vintage folks. The Tandy 1100HD I just purchased has a dead Conner CP2024 20MB hard drive. I looked around, average price was in the $120 range, cheapest being $50 but I didn't see any kind of warranty info on that one. Looks like the 1100 is going into a drawer for awhile.

chuckcmagee
January 23rd, 2007, 06:51 AM
And here's a lot of 3 hardcards for cheap (maybe) on ebay.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Vintage-Plus-HardCard-Hard-Drive-Lot_W0QQitemZ260079085845QQihZ016QQcategoryZ4193QQ rdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Terry Yager
January 23rd, 2007, 09:11 AM
here is a 40MB hard card on eBay:

http://search.ebay.co.uk/260077787227


That's a Plus+ HardCard. Very proprietary, special driver, etc. Those things can be a nightmare to get runing. Besides, it's a 12" card that won't fit in the T1K's 10" slots.

--T

Terry Yager
January 23rd, 2007, 09:13 AM
And here's a lot of 3 hardcards for cheap (maybe) on ebay.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Vintage-Plus-HardCard-Hard-Drive-Lot_W0QQitemZ260079085845QQihZ016QQcategoryZ4193QQ rdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Ditto on the Plus+, and those are 16-bit cards as well.

--T

Terry Yager
January 23rd, 2007, 09:15 AM
Best bet is prolly to try and find a 3.5" MFM drive and/or (WD?) controller board.

--T

chuckcmagee
January 23rd, 2007, 03:13 PM
What does all this prove? It proves that it's a good thing there is more than one person on this forum. This computer stuff can get complicated, even for us guys with 32+ years of experience.

mike2340
January 23rd, 2007, 09:47 PM
Well it died again. Stepper motor not stepping now. I think I am going to look for another drive. I been looking around and have e-mailed a couple of places. Waiting for feedback. Thanks to all you guys for the help and suggestions.


Thanks
Mike H.

curtis
January 25th, 2007, 07:49 PM
Well it died again. Stepper motor not stepping now. I think I am going to look for another drive. I been looking around and have e-mailed a couple of places. Waiting for feedback. Thanks to all you guys for the help and suggestions.


Thanks
Mike H.

Hi Mike,

Stumbling through the myriad boxes from my move, I've discovered a Hardcard 20. I've also found the manual. Now all I have to do is find the disk. If you want it, pm me and we'll discuss terms.

Curtis

Druid6900
February 7th, 2007, 06:57 AM
Well, if you want to do it the old fashioned way, a quick search of the box of controllers destined for my on-line store produced 2 Seagate ST-11M 8-bit HDO cards and a WD1002S-WX2A 8-bit HDO.

Druid