PDA

View Full Version : XT-IDE on an old IBM XT clone



dada
October 16th, 2017, 03:55 AM
Hi everyone. I was wondering if someone could help me. I've got an old IBM XT clone (http://www.vcfed.org/forum/showthread.php?59115-Hard-drive-for-ancient-8088-pc) that I made a topic about before, which now has an XT-IDE rev4 installed. Details on this model (http://www.tulipgv.nl/tc1.htm) are only available in Dutch it seems, but it's got an Intel 8088 inside. Tried to find more info, but there doesn't seem to be too much out there.

https://i.imgur.com/ovoTZz0.jpg

So I installed the XT-IDE, but I can't seem to get it to work. Specifically, it seems to autodetect the card and the hard drive, but after that it just locks up. Nothing happens and keyboard input is ignored. It only says this:

https://i.imgur.com/khHT4l9.png

Here's some installation pics. (https://imgur.com/a/9QzGD)

I'm not really clever enough to solve this problem on my own. I've tried changing the dip switches to get it on another address, but then it can't find the hard disk, or if I turn on 8K mode it's the exact same problem. I don't have anything else installed in this machine, except for two IDE floppy drives. So I'm at a loss as to what the problem is.

The hard disk is a DeLOCK 54141 (http://www.delock.de/produkte/G_54141/merkmale.html), and I'm not sure if this could be the problem.

Any help would be really appreciated! :) Hoping someone here knows how I should proceed next.

GeoffB17
October 16th, 2017, 09:36 AM
Have you used FDISK (or equivalent)?

Have you tried to FORMAT (or equiv).

The reported details could be the result of the computer seeing the IDE interface, and seeing that there is some sort of HD attached, but not being able to access the HD in any useful way. i.e. Needs FDISK, and FORMAT.

HDs of this sort of vintage may also require BOTH a low-level format AND then a 'normal' format, although the low level format MAY have been done.

Geoff

SomeGuy
October 16th, 2017, 10:02 AM
Does the machine lock up before it can boot from a floppy?

If so then you may need to test that DOM drive on a newer computer.

A DOM won't need to be low level formatted, but often DOMs, CFs, and even sometimes hard drives, will have garbage on them that may confuse older DOS or BIOS. That may require wiping the drive. Something like the DBAN boot CD on a newer computer, or MAXLLF (that really just wipes IDE drives despite the name) on an older computer. Or even using the Norton Utilities and manually zeroing out a least the first physical sector.

I'd try to verify that the DOM module is really working. And I'd also try a different hard drive or CF card on the XTIDE to see what happens.

modem7
October 16th, 2017, 11:32 PM
I've tried changing the dip switches to get it on another address, but then it can't find the hard disk ...
The card has two address ranges:
1. Address that the BIOS EEPROM starts at (the "D8000h" in your photo).
2. The I/O address that the IDE interface starts at (the "0300h" in your photo).

If the I/O address is changed from default (0300), the BIOS EEPROM needs to be reconfigured to compensate, so that the BIOS EEPROM knows what new I/O address range to use to interact with the IDE interface.
That will be the "another address" that you are referring to.


Any help would be really appreciated!
There is a common issue that causes an inability to boot from DOM/CF, and that is non-standard boot code in the drive's MBR (master boot record). Typically, affected people find that if they boot from a floppy, they can then do read/write operations on the C: drive.

The common way to fix the above mentioned issue is to boot from a DOS boot floppy (of DOS 5 or later) then issue the command of: FDISK /MBR

Note that using FDISK to delete then recreate the MBR does not always work to solve the above mentioned issue. That is because, under certain circumstances, FDISK does not put in new boot code into the MBR.

If you boot from floppy, then discover that the DOM/CF is appearing as D: rather than C:, then make sure that the XT motherboard switch settings are not set for 3 floppy drives.

dada
October 19th, 2017, 12:49 PM
Does the machine lock up before it can boot from a floppy?

The common way to fix the above mentioned issue is to boot from a DOS boot floppy (of DOS 5 or later) then issue the command of: FDISK /MBR

Unfortunately, it just locks up without giving me the ability to boot from a floppy. Wish I could just run fdisk.

Today I found the only other free IDE drive I could use, zeroed it out and formatted it as FAT16 (couldn't really do FAT12 easily, but I was hoping this would at least let me boot somehow). Hooked up the power cable for one of the 5.25" floppy drives. Unfortunately I couldn't get it to work. Tried with and without the 5V jumper, but the Xtide wouldn't even appear on the boot screen. It actually doesn't appear now even with the flash drive. So I must've done something wrong. The light on the card did light up when I removed the 5V jumper, though.

It's weird, and I suppose I'll need to do some more research.

dada
October 20th, 2017, 12:06 PM
Alright, I did some more work (even though as I'm posting this my other post hasn't been approved yet).

I'm just not sure anymore, because even if there is no hard drive detected (https://i.imgur.com/vxHQp3O.jpg), it still won't boot. I zeroed out an external hard disk and formatted it FAT16 (couldn't quite make it FAT12) and connected it (https://i.imgur.com/x8AvWTS.jpg). It recognizes the drive, but won't boot (https://i.imgur.com/Hp4A6R9.jpg).

I think this means that the hard disk itself is not a factor.