PDA

View Full Version : Great products for your Commodore!



wiskow
January 18th, 2007, 12:45 AM
Hello everyone!

I just wanted to let all of you know about some great products that I just got from Charles of 8-Bit Designs!

The first, and by far the best of all, is the "User Port Commander". I believe this was called a "4-in-1 Plus" by the previous owner of 8-Bit Designs, but it's now been renamed. This is a great little gadget that, quite frankly, no Commodore owner should be without! It connects to your User Port (obviously), and has a parallel port to connect an IBM-style parallel printer, a system/serial bus reset switch, a printer reset switch, a toggle switch to change between BASIC 7.0 mode on a C128 and GeoCable compatibility mode, and a +5V DC power-tap. It's fully GeoCable compatible, and even comes with a disk full of GeoCable printer drivers for GEOS/Wheels. The reset button will reset the computer without resetting your serial devices on C64 rev. 3 kernal and higher, all C64c's, and C128's. On C64's with rev. 2 kernal and lower, it will reset both the computer and serial devices.

The second thing is a handy little device called "The Bus Reset". This plugs into any available serial port, and has a button on the end of a cable. Pressing this button on a C64 with rev. 2 kernal and lower, and VIC-20's, will reset both the computer and serial devices. On a C64 with rev. 3 kernal and higher, all C64c's, C128's, 16's, and Plus/4's, this will reset your serial devices without resetting your computer. So on the later 64c's and 128's, this little device makes a great partner with the User Port Commander, as you can use one to reset only the computer, and the other to reset only your serial devices, as the need may arise.

Finally, the last thing is called the "Bus-Y Port Splitter". This plugs into any available serial port, and it's a Y-cable... So basically, you can plug two serial devices into a single serial port. I use this plugged into the serial port on my C64, then plug my Bus Reset swtich into one side and my disk drives into the other side, so I can keep the Bus Reset switch close to the keyboard. You can also use this if you have a device, such as a printer, which has only one serial port, and you want to add another device onto your serial chain, like perhaps an XE1541 or another such cable to connect your drives to a PC.

Charles also got fresh cable in to make new X1541, XE1541, and XM1541 cables. I already have an XE1541 cable of my own, so I didn't need one of those, but maybe you do! Oh, and he still has one or two C128's with 64K Video RAM upgrades installed available.

Anyway, I just wanted to pass this information on to all of you, and let you all know that 8-Bit Designs is still in business, and Charles is producing some quality products. It's nice to know that there are still people out there who are actively supporting the Commodore community, unlike people "whose name I shall not speak"... ;-)

If any of you are interested in checking out 8-Bit Designs products, you can find the web page at http://www.8bitprodserv.spaces.live.com ... To order any of 8-Bit Design's products for yourself, just e-mail Charles at shifty_butch@hotmail.com (shifty_butch@hotmail.com). He's a very friendly guy, and he won't do you wrong! :-)

Take care!
-Andrew

Cottonwood BBS
(951)242-3593

Keal
February 26th, 2007, 11:27 PM
that phone number for the Cottonwood BBS appears derelict.

wiskow
February 27th, 2007, 12:50 AM
that phone number for the Cottonwood BBS appears derelict.

Derelict? How so? :confused:

That's the phone number I have set up for the BBS.

-Andrew

Keal
February 27th, 2007, 06:09 PM
Derelict? How so? :confused:

That's the phone number I have set up for the BBS.

-Andrew

i accidently dialed 952

btw it works party lined as well.



by partylined i mean two people using the same terminal access point via a managed 3way call.

btw is Cottonwood BBS in Cottonwood Arizona?


the other guy i had try it should join this site soon atleast tonite.

/me sees if he can get it to work using Skype VoiP.

nope

Skype ends up muting the signal after the second series of tones.

i could try Net2Phone VoiP, but i lost my old account.

N2P is one of, or the original, VoiP provider, not the creators of the famous 'The Ringing' VoiP flash commerial as they like people to believe.

Net2Phone was in the game since 1997 or 1998.

maybe VoiP doesn't work due to line noise cancelling.

perhaps if you encoded the modem noise as a different tonal format and decoded them on arrival, it would work with VoiP.

wiskow
February 27th, 2007, 07:53 PM
Cottonwood BBS is located in Moreno Valley, California. You can find more information about it at the informational website I set up at http://hometown.aol.com/cottonwoodbbs.

As for VoIP, I originally tried running the BBS on a VoIP line when I brought it back online last November. But it didn't work out, and I ended up reverting back to a "real" phone line. VoIP seems to work alright with "modern" modems, but doesn't work at all with older modems... it's just a mess with all the line noise.

-Andrew

Keal
February 27th, 2007, 09:33 PM
have you considered linking bbs to a synthesized modem and linking via tcp/ip as well?

that way you could serve people that dial in using tcp/ip as well.

no i have no clue what i am talking about ^-^;;;

wiskow
February 27th, 2007, 10:33 PM
have you considered linking bbs to a synthesized modem and linking via tcp/ip as well?

As a matter of fact, I'm working twoards doing that exact thing! I'm working together with Jim Brain, author of TCPser4J. With my help, he'll be adding what he calls "captive modem support" to his program, allowing both dial-up AND Telnet connections to a Commodore computer. If we pull it off, it'll be the first time this has ever been done with a Commodore! :D

-Andrew