PDA

View Full Version : 5150 Monochrome card can't see on a Color screen??

KLund1
October 27th, 2017, 04:14 PM
I just got 2 5150's, they appear in good condition. I'm still new to these machines. They both have monochrome video cards. But I only have a IBM 5153 color monitor that worked great with my 5160(it is deep in storage now). When I boot each 5150 I get nothing on the screen. Just white to black when power is turned on. I do not the Beep on power up. I have a model F keyboard connected. Can the 5153 display monochrome output? Should there be a beep on power up? There is no FD drive lights after power up. I tested the PSU output and I get about 5V with a multimeter.

glitch
October 27th, 2017, 04:58 PM
No, a 5153 CGA monitor will *NOT* work on a MDA (monochrome) card. I forget if this is one of those combinations that can actually damage the monitor...

SomeGuy
October 27th, 2017, 05:01 PM
An IBM 5153 requires a CGA card (or perhaps an EGA card in CGA compatiblity mode). An IBM MDA or Hercules Monographics Adapter will not work. They both use the same size plugs, but the wiring is different, and they use significantly different video resolutions.

I would expect that even with out a monitor attached you would eventually get a beep, and if there were no other errors it would try and boot the floppy. (Might try pressing F1 in case there is a detected error you cant see, but it should still beep first)

SpidersWeb
October 27th, 2017, 05:49 PM
As already covered - card and monitor don't match, and you should hear a beep and see floppy drive access. Although I will say a 5150 that's been expanded to a full 640KB of RAM, does take a long time to finish the RAM test. It could be easy for someone to think "thats long enough" and shut the power off prematurely.