PDA

View Full Version : Kaypro 4 PSU Switchable between 115 and 240v ?



zippysticks
February 2nd, 2018, 07:01 AM
Folks,

So there is a link cable tagged 115V in the Kapypro4 power supply - does anyone know if simply removing this will allow the unit to use 240V
?

Astec PSU certainly seems specified for 115/240V - see photo.

If anyone has a schematic I'd appreciate it please.

Thanks in advance

43446

zippysticks
February 2nd, 2018, 08:56 AM
Never mind - answered my own question after finding the Technical manual here:

https://amaus.org/static/S100/kaypro/systems/Kaypro%20Technical%20Manual%201484-C%20198408.pdf

Section 8.2 (page 84) indicated thats exactly what the link is for.


Folks,

So there is a link cable tagged 115V in the Kapypro4 power supply - does anyone know if simply removing this will allow the unit to use 240V
?

Astec PSU certainly seems specified for 115/240V - see photo.

If anyone has a schematic I'd appreciate it please.

Thanks in advance

43446

JonB
February 3rd, 2018, 01:20 AM
I'd change those RIFA capacitors while you're at it, if I were you.

43458

(ringed in red)

zippysticks
February 3rd, 2018, 01:30 AM
I'd change those RIFA capacitors while you're at it, if I were you.

43458

(ringed in red)

First on the list Jon !
I may be in the minority but I rather like the smell when they do explode.

Second on the list is finding out why the floppies won't spin up. Its a bid odd as they have power, the head stepper motor works and I have freed up the drive mechanics and lubricated them.