PDA

View Full Version : Modern 64K RAM for Northstar Horizon?

smp
March 2nd, 2018, 07:10 AM
Hi all,

I am (hopefully) going to receive a new-to-me Northstar Horizon system sometime soon. It is fully populated with NS ZPB-A processor, MDS-A-D disk controller, and NS 64K HRAM memory. I've always wanted this particular system for some reason, and now I may have a chance to get my wish.

The memory board has been flakey in the recent past, and I have little experience with dynamic RAM in S-100 systems.

I'm looking to possibly cobble together a modern static RAM board for this system. The NS system needs to reserve $E800 - $EFFF for its boot ROM. Other than that, all of RAM should be available.

In the past, I've owned a CompuPro RAM 17 board which would fit the bill perfectly. Of course, that board is now long gone, and none seem to be available anywhere that I've been looking. If a good working RAM 17 were to come available, I would expect it to be priced exorbitantly.

Does anyone have any good ideas to share? My design days are long behind me, and my eyes and dexterity aren't anywhere near what they used to be, so I'm kind of nervous about embarking on a path that I may not be able to navigate. Besides, doing this on my own may be an expensive option. What are your thoughts and advice?

Thanks for listening...

smp

glitch
March 2nd, 2018, 07:20 AM
The HRAM series of DRAM boards actually work quite well in the Horizons with a North Star CPU board. It's one of the few DRAM boards I don't hate :) If yours is flakey, I have others I can trade you for. It's probably just a bad 4116, they do have a somewhat higher-than-average failure rate. I've got other DRAM and static RAM boards, too. The important thing is, the board needs to be able to open holes in the upper part of memory to make way for the floppy controller, since the North Star controllers don't assert *PHANTOM.

Once my S-100 FeRAM/SRAM board is finished, it'd be the perfect thing for a modern replacement: