PDA

View Full Version : SCSI HDD on 1000SX



P35A
February 10th, 2007, 06:28 AM
Hey all, I have a SCSI Card with a bootable ROM and was thinking about putting an HDD in my 1000SX. Im not too familiar with early SCSI. Id prefer the computer to boot straight from the drive, however I dont know whats the SX's drive size limit. Does it even matter when dealing with SCSI drives?

Druid6900
February 10th, 2007, 07:25 AM
Well, if you use the default setting for the card (and disable the FDC on it, if it has one), it should, in theory, work fine.

If not (and I can't think of a reason it wouldn't, off the top of my head), report back and we'll all work on it.

RichCini
February 11th, 2007, 12:44 PM
Hey all, I have a SCSI Card with a bootable ROM and was thinking about putting an HDD in my 1000SX. Im not too familiar with early SCSI. Id prefer the computer to boot straight from the drive, however I dont know whats the SX's drive size limit. Does it even matter when dealing with SCSI drives?

If you use a card like the Adaptec 1541CF (16-bit ISA), it has a BIOS ROM on it which replaces part of the BIOS ROM in the PC on boot (think of it as an Int13 "wedge"). So, the only thing you should have to do is make sure that there's only one floppy controller active and disable any other hard drives on the PC. For example, on a regular PC, if you go into the BIOS setup and mark HD0 and HD1 as "none", the SCSI card will take care of booting the SCSI drive and all other hard drives should be ignored.

Terry Yager
February 11th, 2007, 02:06 PM
Of course, you may bump heads with the 32Mb partition limit in early versions of DOS...

--T

kb2syd
February 12th, 2007, 11:32 AM
Not to mention that the 1000sx is only 8 bits (the 1541 probably won't work).

P35A
February 12th, 2007, 05:09 PM
Thanks to all who replied for the help. I have a Rancho Tech RT-1000B-6 50 pin SCSI with and external 25 pin port, 8 bit ISA Bus, no onboard FDD controller. And a Digital (Remember them?) 2.1GB 50pin SCSI HDD pulled from an old DEC machine. I currently have two versions of DOS at my disposal: 3.3 and 6.22. As soon as I get everything to one location ill put all together in the SX and let you all know how it goes. :)

RichCini
February 12th, 2007, 05:15 PM
Not to mention that the 1000sx is only 8 bits (the 1541 probably won't work).

Yes, this is true. I was using the 1541 more as an example rather than a product recommendation because it was the only legacy ISA card number I could remember off-hand. Thinking about it though, I remember having a Seagate 8-bit SCSI card that came with my first SCSI drive -- an ST225N (20mb). I used it in the first PC I built from scratch (a 386-25 with 4mb of RAM).

Druid6900
February 12th, 2007, 09:02 PM
8 bit, 16 bit, who cares? Just saw off any little bit that hangs over the slot end and hammer it down really well :-)

Terry Yager
February 12th, 2007, 09:09 PM
The tool-of-choice being the 'hack' saw, of course...

--T

Druid6900
February 13th, 2007, 06:57 AM
Even Moderators aren't allowed to post puns that lame. Someone kill that post before it spreads LMAO

dano
March 1st, 2007, 08:39 PM
I've had good luck with Future Domain 8 bit SCSI cards in XT machines, but don't have a Tandy 1000SX to try one in :)