PDA

View Full Version : At&t 8088



Jast
March 4th, 2004, 05:14 PM
I got this thing a couple years ago on ebay. I still havent been able to use it tho because i cant figure out what monitor it takes. The video card/daughterboard has what looks like a white parallel port. I threw a cga card in it and still nothing. It beeps once and scans the drives.

Terry Yager
March 4th, 2004, 08:22 PM
I got this thing a couple years ago on ebay. I still havent been able to use it tho because i cant figure out what monitor it takes. The video card/daughterboard has what looks like a white parallel port. I threw a cga card in it and still nothing. It beeps once and scans the drives.

That would be the AT&T 6300, right? All I can remember is that the monitor needed is strictly proprietary and cannot be (easily) replaced with another kind of monitor. The monitor can be either color (cga compatable or even better, if the software is written especially for it) or monochrome, but either one will plug into the same port (25-pin) on the back of the box. The same computer was badged under different companies' names, such as XEROX and Olivetti (which is who actually built them, but the Olivetti brand was only sold in Europe, IIRC). Also, the keyboard plug is "special" too...

--T

the xt guy
March 5th, 2004, 08:43 AM
Terry is right, the monitor on the AT&T 6300 is strictly proprietary. Most of the hardware on the AT&T 6300 is proprieatary, even the 16 bit expansion cards it uses are non standard. The motherboard, case, power supply and keyboard are all non standard.

It's not accurate to call the 6300 a clone; it is a compatible, meaning that it will run the software for the IBM PC, but some of it's hardware is proprietary and does not follow the IBM standard.

Jast
March 26th, 2004, 07:38 AM
:'( be nice if i could get the pinouts

Chris2005
March 8th, 2005, 12:35 PM
pin 1 - horizontal sync
*pin 2 - ID0
pin 3 - vertical sync
pin 4,5,6 - red,green,blue
pin 7-9 - nothing
*pin 10 - ID1
pin 11 - mode 0 ???
pin 12 - none
pin 13 - degauss
pins 14-21 - ground
pins 22-23 - nothing
pin 24,25 - 15 vdc

*if connecting to the mono monitor, ID0 and ID1 remain unconnected,
if using the color monior, ID0 connected to "0", ID1 connected to "1"
****THESE ARE NOTES I TOOK FROM A MAGAZINE ARTICLE - NUTS AND VOLTS - DON'T KNOW THE ISSUE OFFHAND. RECENTLY, ABOUT 1-4 MONTHS AGO, THEY GAVE INFO ON THIS VERY MONITOR AGAIN, IT WAS IN A TECH SUPPORT SECTION OF THE MAGAZINE. I'M GOING TO ASSUME THAT "1" REFERS TO HIGH, "0" IS LOW OR GROUND. BUT WHAT'S HIGH? I DON'T KNOW - MAYBE 15VDC? THIS IS THE ONLY ASSISTANCE I CAN OFFER RIGHT NOW.****************************
In terms of frequencies, the AT & T was probably similar to the Tandy 2000, NEC APC III, and of course had it's own mono and color monitors. A few others by Taxan, Amdek, maybe Roland or Thompson (old). I have (2) 6300's, and a mono monitor that I found out in the snow :). I can't tell you if how or if it works, haven't had time to play with it. An early multisync would be ideal, but you'll need additional info on how to connect the sense pins. You could try hooking it up as a grey scale monitor - use the r,g, and b connections (don't know if the mono monitor/card could make grey scales), and leave the sense pins disconnected - that's what's required, and see what happens on a multisync. Also, I don't know what the mode0 input is for. I'll look around...

Jast
March 8th, 2005, 01:12 PM
Better late then never

Chris2005
March 8th, 2005, 02:16 PM
In case you weren't aware, this unit was made by Olivetti of Italy, and appears with that name on the case. Also was sold under the Xerox brand. All 3 are the same puter. What did you pay for it anyway?

Chris2005
March 8th, 2005, 02:24 PM
http://www.old-computers.com/museum/computer.asp?st=1&c=535

for the Olivetti M24pc

http://www.obsoletecomputermuseum.org/att-6300/

just a bit about the similarities between the 6300 and the Xerox version

Terry Yager
March 8th, 2005, 02:42 PM
I have recently been in corespondance with a guy who uses a '286 version of the AT&T (still proprietary). He tells me that in his machine, there are switches (or jumpers?) to turn off the built-in video card, so that he uses standard EGA cards in his (2) machines. Perhaps the 6300 has a similar setup so that you can use a "regular" monitor with it.

--T

Chris2005
March 8th, 2005, 02:47 PM
yes that would be the 6300+. I don't know about the switches, you could poke around. Do you have an older multisync monitor though? You'll need one if you're going to play around with this stuff. That'll solve your problems. Go to Goodwills, Salvation Armys, Thrift stores in general. Or Ebay.

ahm
March 9th, 2005, 03:55 PM
I've got some old notes that talk about a 6300 with a 1.43 ROM.
This might only control the video on board, but then again, it might be worth trying...



SW1 @ 7W
5 6
1 1 - IBM EGA
1 0 - CGA 80x25
0 1 - CGA 40x25
0 0 - IBM Mono

alltare
March 24th, 2005, 10:00 PM
Only slightly on-topic: I had an AT&T 6300 many years ago and traded it straight across for a Curta model 1 calculator. It seemed like a fair trade at the time, but boy, am I happy now.

Chris2005
March 26th, 2005, 10:15 AM
are you happy or unhappy? What's the significance of that calculator?

ahm
March 26th, 2005, 02:46 PM
I'm going to guess "happy". See http://curta.org/

alltare
March 26th, 2005, 10:30 PM
Well, the ATT 6300 is worth maybe $50 on a good day. The Curta could easily be worth $1000. Search "Curta calculator" on ebay. I'm happy.

Alltare