PDA

View Full Version : A safe design gone wrong

evildragon
May 30th, 2007, 10:21 AM
I was at the store the other day. They had this nice looking "Electronic" safe.

So, I gave it a look over. It has a very well built enclosure, floor mounts, a numeric keypad, batteries, and a handle.

All looked good, and I was ready to buy it. Then I noticed something. The batteries are stored on the INSIDE of safe!

So um, I'm no expert in safe design, but, what the hell do you do when the batteries die? LOL

It has no key, and no power cord. So essentially, if the batteries die, your screwed.

Vlad
May 30th, 2007, 12:37 PM
Wow, talk about poor design. Mine at least has a key to override the keypad in the event the batteries fail.

Unknown_K
May 30th, 2007, 12:43 PM
Maybe the safe is unlocked without working batteries?

evildragon
May 30th, 2007, 12:49 PM
Maybe the safe is unlocked without working batteries?
that would be an even worse design ;)

Vlad
May 30th, 2007, 12:53 PM
Defective by Design then. A thief would take the entire safe and just have to wait out the battery life before what ever is inside can be theirs. Although I'm guessing there was probably some kind of override or it makes noise to alert you of failing batteries to give you a chance to get it open.

evildragon
May 30th, 2007, 12:58 PM
Defective by Design then. A thief would take the entire safe and just have to wait out the battery life before what ever is inside can be theirs. Although I'm guessing there was probably some kind of override or it makes noise to alert you of failing batteries to give you a chance to get it open.
i'd hope it does.. but even then, if someones say, hard on hearing, that's no good.. it doesn't have any LED's, that i can say for sure...

Vlad
May 30th, 2007, 01:17 PM
Wow, that must be one cheap piece of crap. I wonder what would happen if the batteries really did gave out? Find a friend with a Plasma Torch >.>

evildragon
May 30th, 2007, 01:23 PM