PDA

View Full Version : Amstrad CPC 6128 Disk Drive problem - Help needed



agrajag
March 17th, 2004, 04:24 PM
Hi,

I recently acquired one of these nice machines and the disk drive just makes a noise (and doesn't stop) once I try to access it.

From what I've read on the net the belt probably needs changing.
For anyone in the know, does this sound correct?

I've opened her up and had a look at the drive, firstly I can't see any belt so it may have been taken out and secondly I can't actually work out where the belt is meant to go anyway.

Does anyone have or know where I can see a photo of a drive with a belt inside it.
Maybe there's a website showing how to replace the belt?

Thanks in advance.
Agrajag

PS1
March 18th, 2004, 03:23 PM
I have one of these and from what i have read they do suffer from snapped or slipping drive belts.

Last time i used it mine was working on both drives because i replaced the software as it came without any.

The company who makes the software is still going so replacement discs arent a problem.

As soon as i can i will open mine up and have a look at the drive i think i had them out when i got it because it was in a bit of a bad way.

I will try to take some pictures and send them to youi.

agrajag
March 18th, 2004, 08:35 PM
That would be great thanks.....I'm surprised no-one's done this before somewhere on the net...

CP/M User
March 19th, 2004, 01:18 AM
"agrajag" wrote:

> I recently acquired one of these nice
> machines and the disk drive just
> makes a noise (and doesn't stop)
> once I try to access it.

How do you mean it doesn't stop. Does
the motor stop after a short while when
the disk is in the drive?

Haven't really heard of a case like this
which has the drive doing this.

> From what I've read on the net the
> belt probably needs changing.
> For anyone in the know, does this
> sound correct?

I've changed the drive belt in my
CPC6128, yes, though from the
description above it doesn't sound
like this. It sounds more like the
CPC6128 has been opened & the
power connected to the back of the
drive has been plugged back the
wrong back. I did this once with an
internal Superdisk drive & the
motor on that didn't stop.
Unfortunately it quickly burnt out
the drive, virtually making it
useless. It's quite possible that the
same thing might of happened, if
this is the case (which I hope it
ain't), otherwise you'll have to get
a whole new 3" drive! :-(

Usually with the drive belt, it
generally is replaced when you
come across a Disk Missing message
in AMSDOS frequently (obviously
when the disk is in the drive). If
that's not happening, then I'm afraid
the Drive in it may need to be
replaced.

> I've opened her up and had a look
> at the drive, firstly I can't see any
> belt so it may have been taken out
> and secondly I can't actually work
> out where the belt is meant to go
> anyway.

The drive is mean't to be taken out &
is underneath the drive (but there's a
list of instructions you can get from
the Amstrad Community which helps
you replace the belt).

> Does anyone have or know where
> I can see a photo of a drive with a
> belt inside it.
> Maybe there's a website showing
> how to replace the belt?

Generally the bloke who deals with the
drive belts is Brian Watson (I think).
Check out the faq at this website, which
should have a contact for him on it:
http://genesis8.free.fr/indexe.html

But I suggest you talk to him about the
problem you've got, because it doesn't
sound like the Drive Belt (unless it's
missing or something - I haven't run my
CPC6128 without the belt in the drive
so, I don't know what it does without it.

He maybe able to supply you with a 3"
drive if worse comes to worse, it would
be terrible to think that the previous
user sold it because they stuffed up the
floppy.

Good Luck,
CP/M User.

agrajag
March 22nd, 2004, 02:46 PM
Hi,

Thanks very much for your info...

Yes, only once I issue a drive command the noise starts and doesn't stop.

I can't see anything move (looks like no belt in there) inside, sound seems to come from the rear of the drive.

Regards,
Derek

agrajag
March 23rd, 2004, 03:59 AM
Hi,

Looked at that site you gave me.....

I then opened up the drive and looked under the PCB where the belt is meant to be.

NOT THERE...It was broken and wrappen around the drive motor.

So I pulled it out and as a temporary measure connected the motor and disk spindle with a rubber band (That happend to fit snugly) .

I then turned it on and issued CAT command and this time the disk did spin and the amstrad attempted to read the disk but failed.

The sound of the drive now stops, so can assume the drive is working ok

Would it be because I am using a rubber band instead of the proper belt to why it could not read?

Thanks,
Agrajag

CP/M User
March 23rd, 2004, 03:12 PM
"agrajag" wrote:

> Would it be because I am using a rubber
> band instead of the proper belt to why it
> could not read?

If the rubber band was slipping, then yes,
I'd say it would fail. The drive belt has to
move around smoothly without slipping. I'd
give Brian Watson an e-mail (his address
should be in the FAQ - do a text search
for that name). Even if you don't want to
buy one from him, see if he can offer
some suggestions as to what to use. Failing
that, I guess try using a small narrowest
rubber band you can find (it might work as
a tempory measure - until you find something
better). Alternatively if you want a local source
just look in the FAQ to the list of contacts (
there's a David Simpson who maybe able to
help - he's in SA), they maybe able to help in
terms of finding a suitable belt.

Good Luck,
CP/M User.

psomat
May 2nd, 2007, 02:20 AM
Hi there,...
some years after I face similar problem with my amstrad CPC and its drive (not functioning). On one hand I would like to ask how can I change drive belt, and on the other is there any possibility to find a new 3" drive?

thnx in advance


Hi,

I recently acquired one of these nice machines and the disk drive just makes a noise (and doesn't stop) once I try to access it.

From what I've read on the net the belt probably needs changing.
For anyone in the know, does this sound correct?

I've opened her up and had a look at the drive, firstly I can't see any belt so it may have been taken out and secondly I can't actually work out where the belt is meant to go anyway.

Does anyone have or know where I can see a photo of a drive with a belt inside it.
Maybe there's a website showing how to replace the belt?

Thanks in advance.
Agrajag

dongfeng
May 2nd, 2007, 03:50 AM
There's a chap on comp.sys.amstrad.8bit (http://groups.google.co.uk/group/comp.sys.amstrad.8bit/topics) who can supply you with new drivebelts. Someone on there sold me a reconditioned drive for mine, which still works perfectly!

carlsson
May 2nd, 2007, 04:01 AM
The FAQ is three years old (?) but it mentions a few different vendors, a little depending where you live. As last resort, the correct measurements are noted in the FAQ. If you have a local repairman who services turntables and tape recorders, he or she might be able to construct a new belt for you based on the specs.