PDA

View Full Version : Free online mainframe access.



TIML
March 30th, 2004, 12:26 PM
Free online mainframe access.

I'm interested in online access to community mainframes
and slightly smaller computers.

Recently I've found these two:

telnet cyberspace.org

(A Sun/OS kinda thing)

telnet login.cray-cyber.org

(A real cray YMP!)


Enjoy!

Does anyone else have any good connection sites?


.T.I.M

TIML
March 31st, 2004, 12:17 PM
I forgot to say, if/when you try these out, tell us your adventures with them on here!

I think they're a lot of fun.


.T.I.M

Terry Yager
March 31st, 2004, 12:54 PM
Free online mainframe access.

I'm interested in online access to community mainframes
and slightly smaller computers.

<snipe>

Enjoy!

Does anyone else have any good connection sites?


.T.I.M

Are you familiar with Howard Harte's website?

http://www.imsai8080.com/computers/s100/northstar.html

He has a couple of S-100 machines on-line to play with (CP/M).

--T

TIML
March 31st, 2004, 01:37 PM
Thanks!


I managed to connect OK using my favorite free Putty telnet app:


http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/download.html


I'll spend more time looking into them later.


.T.I.M

DViolino
April 16th, 2006, 07:21 AM
Does anyone know of free or inexpensive access to an IBM mainframe running OS390, or zOS?

Thanks

mngrif
June 1st, 2006, 01:32 PM
$ uname -a
OpenBSD grex.cyberspace.org 3.8 GENERIC#0 i386

cyberspace.org is OBSD :)

Updated version, too, and a great choice for a public computer.

navanas2001r
April 18th, 2007, 09:18 AM
Hi

Thx for posting the info.

Btw can any one provide me the username and the password to access those sites?

It will be really good..

or else can any tell me any other cheap or free mainframe access sites?

Thanks and Regards
Naveen.R

ahm
April 18th, 2007, 11:44 AM
can any one provide me the username and the password to access those sites?

You need to request access via their websites.

navanas2001r
April 23rd, 2007, 06:18 AM
Hey

I cant understand,what u guy are telling.

There is no such link to request for the user-name and password.

Can any one help to access the mainframe from my home PC?

Is it possible?

If so please mail me or post a reply for this Plz..

Its very urgent..

Thanks!

ahm
April 23rd, 2007, 10:05 AM
I cant understand,what u guy are telling.

That may be unavoidable.


There is no such link to request for the user-name and password.

I must disagree. I just went to the websites and there they are, plain as day.
One says "Get a Free Account". The other says "Access Request".
If you can't find them, look harder.
(Hint: telnet is not a website)

Sharkonwheels
May 16th, 2007, 10:43 PM
Does anyone know of free or inexpensive access to an IBM mainframe running OS390, or zOS?

Thanks

Hercules is an emulator for z-series mainframes to run under Linux, Windows, and I think also MacOS.
http://www.conmicro.cx/hercules

then hit the eDonkey/ed2k P2P file-sharing, and you'll find quite a few OS's, ready to drop in, with config files. They have zOS 1.4-1.6, OS/390, VM/ESA 2.4, zVM 4.4, etc...
Be prepared to spend ALOT of time downloading, especially the newer stuff - zVM 4.4 is like 7GB, as well as zOS 1.4-1.6 OS/390 is OK, as is VM/ESA

Tony

chuckcmagee
May 17th, 2007, 02:54 AM
Wow Tony. Does this mean I should direct all my CICS JCL questions to you?

Sharkonwheels
May 17th, 2007, 08:13 PM
Sure!

Just don't expect a coherent answere - at least, not a correct one!

:rolleyes:


Tony

barythrin
May 18th, 2007, 11:32 AM
I had that running at my office a few years ago and put MVS on there (I think they either included it or linked to it). Found a few free 3270 emulators to connect with, and then quickly figured out that I didn't know much about the commands to type. I did some VERY minor admin stuff and also set it up to allow telnet.. then I think I realized how much disk space it was taking and realized I probably wasn't smart enough to make it useful at that time so it went bye bye.

Still, sorta entertaining. I wonder if we could get some classic games to run on it (spacewars???). A few years later I became a backup mainframe security op however I rarely had time to learn commands outside of "top secret" (an admin module on os/390) so I still probably wouldn't have a clue what to do.

- J

Sharkonwheels
May 19th, 2007, 02:59 PM
...I think I realized how much disk space it was taking and realized I probably wasn't smart enough to make it useful at that time so it went bye bye.

- J

Exactly right....if you're not paying attention, you could easily suck up anywhere from 10GB to 40GB having multiple OS configs. You figure, zOS images ar about 6GB per version, I at one time had vm/370, MVS, zOS 1.4-1.6, zVM 4.4, 2 different versions of OS/390, VM/ESA, VSE/ESA,etc.. I was sucking up nearly 40GB.

And this is using compressed images!

I finally just got an external 2.5" 120GB USB-powered drive for OS's, Virtual Machines, and images. It currently has about 800mb free!!!!!


Tony

JeffMeunier
May 22nd, 2007, 04:36 AM
zOS images ar[e] about 6GB per version

Wow, so IBM has been making bloated OSes longer than Microsoft has. I'm curious: what do you get in that 6GB? (I mean other than a corporate philosophy) Certainly not a crufty GUI or a big ol' web browser...

Or is zOS a modern OS that actually has a crufty GUI and a big ol' web browser? I'm ignorant of everything mainframe.

retrobits
May 23rd, 2007, 02:26 PM
The PDP Planet website:

http://www.pdpplanet.com/

invites visitors to apply for and use accounts on a real, restored DECsystem-10 or an XKL Toad-1. They both run versions of the TOPS operating system. I have accounts there - haven't used them in a while, but they are fun.

The site is part of Paul Allen's DEC collection/restoration activites.

- Earl

Vlad
May 23rd, 2007, 02:48 PM
Wow, so IBM has been making bloated OSes longer than Microsoft has. 6 gig means nothing to a mainframe that would run zOS.


Certainly not a crufty GUI or a big ol' web browser...Why would a mainframe have a web browser or a GUI? None of the big iron I've worked with has had a GUI or even X11 itself installed. Just a command line version of *NIX and various programming compliers. I've only worked with Supers, so I don't know if the same applies to Mainframes or not.

-VK

SwedaGuy
May 24th, 2007, 08:53 AM
Wow, so IBM has been making bloated OSes longer than Microsoft has. I'm curious: what do you get in that 6GB? (I mean other than a corporate philosophy) Certainly not a crufty GUI or a big ol' web browser...


Well, I don't know about the really high-end stuff, but our AS/400 OS takes about 5 GB, of course that is with all the networking, compilers, Office Vision, several Client Access versions and all the goodies that come in the base OS realease.

No GUI here. GUI is for two things: graphic artists and people too stupid to remember simple commands. They do have a virtual console that runs under Windows or OS/2, but we rarely use it.

Of course, for giving up the pretty picture, we get reliability. Even when the air conditioning went out last summer and three hard drives (out of 30 or so) overheated and died, the system had no unplanned down time. Everything was raid protected, so we stayed in business.

Also, we can support some 600 or so direct-connect devices (terminals & printers) and thousands of network connections. I would like to see any Win server do that...

Incidently, we do have a Win 2000 server running on a netfinity card integrated into the AS/400. There is something to be said for the quality of the hardware, as we have nary a problem from that Win system. On the other hand, when we were running a variety of Win 2000 servers on a variety of PC hardware configurations, we had a lot of trouble with them.

Sharkonwheels
May 25th, 2007, 01:40 PM
Wow, so IBM has been making bloated OSes longer than Microsoft has. I'm curious: what do you get in that 6GB? (I mean other than a corporate philosophy) Certainly not a crufty GUI or a big ol' web browser...

Or is zOS a modern OS that actually has a crufty GUI and a big ol' web browser? I'm ignorant of everything mainframe.

6GB is EVERYTHING: OS, Networking, ISPF, JES2, Websphere, CICS, IMS and DB/2 databases, development system+compilers, I mean EVERYTHING!
These are images of the ADCD (App Developer CD) systems, so they have basically just about everything. Also has a Unix emulation environment.
Nifty!

Tony

twedza
October 27th, 2007, 08:29 AM
Hi all,

Is there a way we can access mainframe ie. sessions 3270 from home. I dont mind a paid account.

also anyone can give a cobol complier that runs all the programs.

SwedaGuy
October 27th, 2007, 01:56 PM
What is it you hope to accomplish on this mainframe session?

Sharkonwheels
January 15th, 2008, 12:02 AM
Yeah, I know the thread's old, but it's for Sweda....

I could PROBABLY set something up, running under Hercules (mainframe emu for Linux/Win) but what exactly are you looking for?

You will need to be WAY more specific!
for example:
VM/370 R6
VM/ESA 2.4
DOS/VSE
VSE/ESA
z/VM 4.4
MVS
OS/390 V1R2
OS/390 V2R10
zOS 1.4
zOS 1.5
zOS 1.6

T

SwedaGuy
January 15th, 2008, 07:26 PM
Was I looking for something specific? My memory isn't serving me well right now. I know we discussed relative OS footprints, and I took the opportunity to plug the OS/400, but did I mention needing something (that I have since forgotten)?

I apologize if I have overlooked something obvious...But thanks for thinking of me, Shark!

Sharkonwheels
January 15th, 2008, 10:13 PM
Doh! It was the OP that asked, never mind....


Sheesh...turn 40, and the brain goes to mush!


T

SwedaGuy
January 16th, 2008, 05:39 AM
Hey, don't worry about it...I've been walking around in a state of confusion for the last couple of months. I'm just glad to hear that this time it wasn't me!

Anyway, I thought the concept of "mainframe access" was a bit vague. What precisely does the OP want to do besides log on? Someone mentioned COBOL. OK, I can create an account on the 400 for a visitor (ILE COBOL), let you write all kinds of programs...but if you don't have your own 400 to run it, what good is it to you? Unless you're looking for someone to host your production data on an ongoing basis...which no one is going to do for free...

afleetcommand
February 11th, 2008, 03:51 AM
Thats my question after reading thru these postings..why? Unless you have an app that has some value to you looking for a place to run. What type of graphics could you realistically run from a remote site without some sort of local help? Now if someone had "free" access to Catia on a IBM mainframe...with the ability to post and plot locally..then why would those application companies exist?

carlsson
February 11th, 2008, 05:39 AM
If it is a vintage operating system, something that is hard to find and emulate on a modern computer, I can see the value in test-driving an old mainframe. Perhaps one even has some old software one would like to try out.

When it comes to commercial use, approximately how old hardware and software tends to still be in use? Can you think of any cruicial servers more than 20 years old, not counting embedded systems and alike?

micol
March 2nd, 2008, 12:24 PM
You can apply for free online mainframe access here:

http://www.efglobe.com/cgi-bin/mainframe/mainuser

Then you will receive a an email like this:

========================================
Dear XYZ,

Your newly applied TSO userid XYZ has been created in DeZhi mainframe system, with the initial password of ZXY.
You need to use this password to logon to TSO, and change the password at your first logon to TSO.

Please refer following table for detailed access information.

Access Information

Host Name fandezhi.efglobe.com The TN3270 telnet hostname
TN3270 Telnet Port 23 Use this port to logon to TSO
Your TSO User ID XYZ Use this userid to logon to TSO
Your Inital Password ZXY You have to change it at first logon
Your Higher Level Qualifier XYZ.** You own these datasets
Your UNIX System Service home /u/XYZ Use 'TSO OMVS' to go to UNIX System Service
Your account number XYZ Used in your job
Your logon procedure SYSUSER Used in your TSO logon.
Your Datasets XYZ.JCL.CNTL
Your JCL library. XYZ.ISPF.ISPPROF
Your ISPF profile.
Your Job Card XYZ.JCL.CNTL(JOBCARD) Use this job card in this system.

If you forget your TSO userid or password in the future, you can always go to our site to reset your password or show your TSO ID.
You need to use 3270 telnet emulation software to logon the mainframe system, such as IBM Personal Communication software.

===================================

Very cool, you can program/test/debug in Cobol/CICS and for FREE.

Michael

Sharat
May 8th, 2008, 07:55 AM
Hi Michael,
Greetings...
Than you for wonderful site.
I could login with userid (ADONIS) using Z/Scope Classic v6.2 emulator from India. While creating PDS am getting status X-LOCK and I disconnected and trying to enter again in TSO and geting message LOGON REJECTED, UserId ADONIS already logged on to system ADCD. Please resolve my problem.
Thanking you in advance,
Regards,
Sharat